Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Even with extra apples, this was much too sweet. I wish I'd read some of the reviews about reducing the sugar. Other than the sweetness, this was just okay. Sorry, I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is really quite different for pie, however, it looked so easy I wanted to try it. I really liked it, and when I brought it to Thanksgiving, my family did too. They all agreed that, while not exactly "pie", it was very good and something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I'm a swede, and i liked this recipe. It's similar to another apple pudding dish i make at christmas time. I decreased sugar to 3/4, butter to 1/2 as well. I also sprinkled the apples with cornstarch, vanilla and lemon zest as recommened by others. I ground up the nuts (i used walnuts). Next time i would add a handful of raisins to the apples and drizzle it with lemon juice for a little more zing. Mine baked in about 45 minutes and i think the crust topping was too much for a small pan. i would use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
not what i expected. way too sweet. i added extra apples like some of the comments said and it didn't really help. will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of white b/c I like the richer taste of brown sugar when it comes to baking with apples. I also used walnuts rather than pecans b/c that is all I had but I do think pecans would be delicious in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
8/2/09 (just adding a few more comments after using this recipe for more than 2 years...) 1) this pie bakes faster than the time indicated (in our oven, it's done in 30-40 mins). 2) we find that using a combo of sweet and tart apples gives a nice balance of taste (we usually use 2-3 galas and 1 granny smith per pie). 3) if using plastic wrap to cover after baking, leave a small opening (this ensures that the pie will retain that flaky/crisp top). 4) btw, for variety, one can try adding a bit of sour cream into the inside of the pie. we usually put just enough liquid to slightly coat the apple slices. 11/23/06 (original review) this pie is so yummy. i followed the suggestion of putting a bit of lemon juice in the crust. also i did half and half brown and white sugar. my family absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I wasn't sure how I would like this "pie" since the crust is my favorite part of a pie, but my whole family really enjoyed it. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is more cake-like in consistency, so it helps if you don't think of it as a pie. In fact, I'm going to double the recipe for a 9x13 pan for a school function. As other reviewers have indicated, the baking time is too long. I baked it for less than an hour, and the top still came out too hard. I filled the pan with apples, so it was moist enough inside, but it did run over in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Exceptionally good! My husband and I really enjoyed the mix of textures with the topping and the warm apples. I tried it as written and it came out wonderful, but it was quite brown after 55 minutes- so watch the baking time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Definitely would not make again. Came out way too dry and cake like. I used an extra apple and it still wasn't enough. Too much topping and not enough apples. It should be called Swedish Apple Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was good, as I don't like making pie crusts. I made two, both with walnuts, real butter and less sugar(brown and white). I found the crust was a little too crispy & very brown. I did cook it for less time at 55 minutes. I took one to a friends & came back and the other one was gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States