Swedish Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This pie is awesome! I read the reviews and decided to add a little more spice--used about a tsp of pumpkin pie spice with the apples. Also used half and half white and brown sugar on the topping--it comes out nice and brown. Will make this again and again - it was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is a recipe my mom has had for years. It's the best apple pie. I always had almond extract as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Went apple picking in New England and have been trying ALL kinds or recipes with the bushel of apples I picked right off the tree. So far... this is the simplest and most delicious pie. I did use more than 2 and 1/2 cups of apples. I just could not help myself. Sliced thin and layered in the pie plate. Also sprinkled a tiny bit of corn starch over the apples before smearing that delicious topping over them and used real butter (sinful, I know- but so rich!) Although there is nothing like apple pie with traditional flaky crust, I don't have the time (or the desire) to make one and I refuse to buy pre-made. This is a real winner! Served warm and topped with Frozen (fat free, sugar free) cool-whip and it just sunk right into the pie. Yum. Am baking one as I type this review. No wonder it won a blue ribbon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This recipe was really good. I used a total of 4 Granny Smith apples. I also used the suggestions of other reviewers and I added corn starch and more cinnamon to the sprinkle mixture. I also added some lemon zest and lemon juice to the top of the apples before I poured on the topping. I baked the pie for only 55 minutes and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
BEST APPLE PIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! MY MOM'S FAVORITE!!! Served at midnight and was gone by ten AM!!! Will have to make again this week..THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Fantastic how it has no crust..used some tips as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Didn't turn out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I made two of these pies for the holiday. I like Swedish apple pies because they are easy and usually a little tart and have a cake consistency. This pie was good, but I was left feeling like is was a little bland. Others liked it, so I would still recommend it if this is the kind of pie you are looking for. Maybe it was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anghill79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This recipe is brilliant! I added an extra cup of grated apple. I also added some lime juice to the apple mixture which made it a little tangy. I decreased the white sugar by just a bit. Switched the pecans for almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This apple pie was delicious. I used all the substitutions ROSEGRABOWSKI suggested, replacing the 1 cup sugar with 1/2 a cup of white and 1/2 a cup of light brown, and adding some lemon zest and lemon juice to the apples underneath. I made it for Thanksgiving and all my family members raved about it. It was really easy to make (made even more so by a good apple-corer / slicer,) and I will be sure to make it every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I was looking for something to bring to my Danish mother-in-laws house that my Swedish mother would be proud of. This did need modifications: I sliced 5 apples (1/2 fuji, 1/2 granny smith). Only used the 2.5 cups the recipe called for but wish I had used all 5 apples. I used real butter, a pinch of cardamom, 1/2c brown sugar Splenda and 1/2c white sugar and the pecans. Also used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour. Sprinkled 1/4 tsp lemon juice and cornstarch over the apple/cinammon/sugar mix. I believe I overbaked it because it ended up with a cookie/brownie consistency, but was still delish with vanilla ice cream. Next time I will use more apples, decrease the baking time and the amount of sugar and butter. The butter would probably be better if not fully melted. This recipe can be made in a deep dish pie plate or a spring-form pan. Looking forward to making this again & again with 5-star results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States