Swedish Angel Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
A very nice cookie, extremely light and crisp. A few notes: make sure the nuts are very finely chopped; I also needed far more than just a half a cup to roll the cookies in. Adding the cocoa makes a delicious cookie, but it's misleading to call it 'brownie like' . If you're not fond of nuts or don't have them on hand, the cocoa version is good even without them, especially if you mix a small amount of cinnamon into the sugar that you roll them in. Lastly, I usually refrigerate sugar cookie doughs before I shape them, to make them easier to handle, but don't do that with this recipe; the dough is soft, but manageable, and it holds the nuts better at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Makes a very delicious and tender cookie. I added chopped nuts directly to the dough and rolled in cinnamon sugar, topping with a few additional nuts. Other ideas are to top with chocolate kisses or add chocolate chips to the dough. Cookies do spread, I would suggest placing about 3" apart. Baked for 9-10 minutes just until light brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Fabulous. I am swedish and we also love almond anything! I used almond extract instead of vanilla. and used finally chopped almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
this recipe is awsome!!!! i added chocolate chips insted of walnuts and rolled the balls in cinnamon sugar everyone was beging for seconds i will definatly make this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This is a very good basic cookie. I made them per the recipe, but left off the nuts as I was out. I believe they would be even better with almond extract to give them a decidedly Swedish flare. Bake untill they are light brown around the edges and they will melt in your mouth. Great with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are one of my favorite cookies to make for Christmas. They have such a wonderful delicate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These are simple, but delicious! Instead of walnuts, I used almonds (just personal preference) and also rolled them in cinnamon to give them more flavor. I really really like them with the cinnamon, though I think they would be good without it as well. Be careful not to overbake. My first batch was a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
VERY TASTY...WE MADE OURS WITH PECANS...THEY WERE ON HAND...DON'T MAKE TOO LARGE. A SIZE OF A HAZLENUT INSTEAD OF A WALNUT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
instead of rolling the nuts on the outstide, i mixed it in on accident, but either way it was d-LiSH! everyone who has tried it loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idnYc naRt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I am definitely a novice, but I'm very pleased with the results of this recipe....Now let's see what my family thinks. This is the first time I have ever baked a Christmas cookie...I used the 1/3 cup cocoa, and everything else was according to Barbara's recipe. Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night/day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob T.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States