Swanson® Ultra Creamy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These were delicious! I followed the recipe (though I had to guesstimate the size/number of potatoes as I used white potatoes) and was super pleased w/the results. I didn't cover my boiling potatoes and cooked longer than 10 minutes (until the were about to fall apart when poked w/a fork). I mashed in my KA w/the whisk attachment (thanks, Sanzoe, for teaching me that trick!) and they were fluffy and flavorful. I did add sea salt during mashing, but not nearly as much as I usually do when i boil the potatoes in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
A very easy recipe and quite good. I did not use large potatoes, yet needed the amounts of liquid listed. I also had to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
My first time using anything different than water to boil the potatoes. It really added a nice flavor to the potatoes. My family liked. I would say this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My family loved these. I say "these," but I only made one potato to serve three of us. I covered the diced potatoes with the broth to cook them, and when they were done, I added about 2 tablespoons of cream and 1 tablespoon of butter (heated to room temperature). I barely mixed them, added pepper, and that was it! No salt needed because of the broth I used. Very easy, light, and fluffy! Thanks for this method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was my first time making mashed potatoes using Swanson Chicken Broth and I have to say, it was delicious. I was really surprised at how flavorful they were and so easy to make. I didn't have light cream, only heavy cream, so I added just under a 1/2 C. of the heavy cream to the mixture. I'll make these again for the upcoming holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
These were good mashed potatoes but, honestly, I don't think that the expense of almost a full quart of chicken broth made them that much better. I most likely would add some chicken broth to my boiling water in the future, but I won't use a full quart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great recipe for "ultra creamy" mashed potatoes! It's straight forward and just plain delicious. The perfect mashed potato to accompnay your favorite gravy! I always heat up my milk (light cream)in the microwave for a bit before adding it to the potatoes. This is a great base for add-in's to change it up. You just can't go wrong with this classic recipe for comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
We liked these mashed potatoes and yes they were creamy but I did have to add a touch of salt for our liking. Also the ingredients don't mention to peel the potatoes. Of course, I know to do this but maybe a new cook wouldn't. Don't waste the broth, use it to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These make an excellent starter base. These are much different than the mashed potatoes I usually make. I had never boiled the potatoes in broth before. This does add a bit of flavor, however I hated having to toss most of the broth afterwards. The only thing I did differently was to add some salt because they were a little bit bland for our liking. I would definitely make these again and add garlic or other seasonings. Oh, and if your potatoes are "wallpaper paste", you're doing something wrong, like OVERMIXING! I also don't get the "got cold very fast" comment by another reviewer. That's the recipe's fault?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Ultra Creamy? Not so much. Not much different than any other mashed potatoes. Got cold very fast. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States