Swanson® Ultimate Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was pretty good. I didn't have light cream so I just 1/8 cup of milk. The milk was starting to over power the sour cream so I just kept it at 1/8 of a cup. I had to add about 1/4 a teaspoon of salt. Also, after I combined all the ingredients a let the flavors meld together on the stove top for 10min on a really low setting. After that it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I made this last night and it was great. I had company and they didn't leave anything in the bowl...all gone. I did leave out the bacon simply because we don't like it, but otherwise followed the recipes exactly. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Made these last night and they were great! I followed the recipe exactly and my only compliant is that they were a little runny... I prefer really thick, creamy potatoes so next time I will use a little less broth and cream. I also added a large handful of cheese just because we LOVE cheese! I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
You can't go wrong with butter, bacon and sour cream in mashed potatoes, and cooking them in chicken broth just added another layer of delicious flavor. I didn't measure exactly, but I certainly added quite a bit more butter than the recipe directed and only dribbled in the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
These are very good. Chicken stock is a great way to make mashed potatoes if you are watching your weight. When making with steak use beef broth. I dont add bacon and they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Make Sure You Use 5 Large Potatoes Or 10 Small. Try More Bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Made this for thanksgiving twice. LOVE IT. I didn't change much, I don't really like bacon, so I don't add it. One of my fave mashed potatoes recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is so far the best mashed potato recipe I’ve come across here in this website. You just cannot go wrong with butter, sour cream, fresh chives and crisp bacon in mashed potatoes cooked in chicken broth. It has all the flavors I like in mashed potatoes. I used very little half and half with lots of butter and a heaping amount of sour cream. I minced up fresh chives and added the crispy bacon along with a little of its grease for flavoring. It was rich, creamy, savory, seasoned just right and delicious! I served this with, “Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef,” and “Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
YUMMY FOR TUMMY! I prepare the bacon, but I leave it out and let everyone put it on top as a garnish that wants it. Such a glorious comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
best mashed potatoes ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States