Swanson® Savory Pot Roast with Harvest Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Delicious and easy. I added little white onions to cook with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I'm not sure what I did wrong. I had a 3.25 pound roast and followed the recipe as written, however, my meat was overcooked, my veggies were undercooked, and my sauce never thickened - even after adding more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
My first attempt ever at a pot roast. It turned out wonderful. The meat was moist and cooked perfectly. Made me think of my dad's roast! Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I have been cooking since I was a little girl. Started off by just watching my mother, then little by little, I was cutting and dicing while in there with her. The first Pot Roast I ever made was the same recipe that my mother taught me while watching her. This recipe is almost exactly the same as hers. I have learned that even though a recipe can be exactly the same, there are always different ideas that another person has for their recipe. I never had used the V8 juice before, thought I would try it this time. WOW. Great taste to an already fantastic recipe. I also add a couple of Bay Leaves to it. My recipe had always used 1 cup of dry Red Wine instead of the V8. It does make the taste just different enough that my husband actually tasted the difference. He loves them both. Now that's a miracle. Lol. THANK YOU CAMBELL'S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Filson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good recipe....Ill make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight, and it turned out pretty good. I am only giving it three stars for a number of reasons. In response to one of the previous reviews, I checked the meat at about 100 minutes and it was done. I wish I had checked it ten minutes earlier. I think it must have something to do with the cut, as this bottom round roast was leaner than others I have prepared. I consider myself a beginner, and can't really speak as to why one piece of meat cooks differently from another, but it seems to need to be paid attention to. With regards to the veggies, I added them at 75 minutes, and at the lowest simmer setting they needed their 40ish minutes, nestled around the roast as they were. Also, I added seasonings to the cooking liquid... garlic, bay leaves, celery salt, dried smashed mushrooms, etc., and I think without the additional flavors, this meal might have been bland for our taste. Overall, this is a great start to a yummy pot roast, but not reliable as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iselle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Loved the cooking method; the house filled with wonderful aromas. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because I thought it needed additional seasoning (onion, garlic powder, bay leaf; I also went ahead and added a little red wine along with the V8). Also, the meat wasn't as moist as I would have liked, so I just sliced it thickly and let it sit in the gravy for a few minutes before serving. I was busy and overcooked the veggies a bit, but the family loved it anyway. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
If I hadnt doctored the recipe it would have been very bland... here is what i added: Seasonings: 2 bay leaves, marjoram, thyme, garlic salt, black pepper, sea salt I used a little red cooking wine with (extra)broth and veggie juice I added garlic (3cloves), 2 onions, and 1lb mushrooms to the potatoes and carrots. cooked 2hrs on 250 and an additional hour also on 250 after i added veggies... It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I didn't have vegetable juice so I added more stock and some tomato paste. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States