Swanson® Savory Pot Roast with Harvest Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I didn't have vegetable juice so I added more stock and some tomato paste. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
If I hadnt doctored the recipe it would have been very bland... here is what i added: Seasonings: 2 bay leaves, marjoram, thyme, garlic salt, black pepper, sea salt I used a little red cooking wine with (extra)broth and veggie juice I added garlic (3cloves), 2 onions, and 1lb mushrooms to the potatoes and carrots. cooked 2hrs on 250 and an additional hour also on 250 after i added veggies... It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Loved the cooking method; the house filled with wonderful aromas. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because I thought it needed additional seasoning (onion, garlic powder, bay leaf; I also went ahead and added a little red wine along with the V8). Also, the meat wasn't as moist as I would have liked, so I just sliced it thickly and let it sit in the gravy for a few minutes before serving. I was busy and overcooked the veggies a bit, but the family loved it anyway. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight, and it turned out pretty good. I am only giving it three stars for a number of reasons. In response to one of the previous reviews, I checked the meat at about 100 minutes and it was done. I wish I had checked it ten minutes earlier. I think it must have something to do with the cut, as this bottom round roast was leaner than others I have prepared. I consider myself a beginner, and can't really speak as to why one piece of meat cooks differently from another, but it seems to need to be paid attention to. With regards to the veggies, I added them at 75 minutes, and at the lowest simmer setting they needed their 40ish minutes, nestled around the roast as they were. Also, I added seasonings to the cooking liquid... garlic, bay leaves, celery salt, dried smashed mushrooms, etc., and I think without the additional flavors, this meal might have been bland for our taste. Overall, this is a great start to a yummy pot roast, but not reliable as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iselle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good recipe....Ill make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I have been cooking since I was a little girl. Started off by just watching my mother, then little by little, I was cutting and dicing while in there with her. The first Pot Roast I ever made was the same recipe that my mother taught me while watching her. This recipe is almost exactly the same as hers. I have learned that even though a recipe can be exactly the same, there are always different ideas that another person has for their recipe. I never had used the V8 juice before, thought I would try it this time. WOW. Great taste to an already fantastic recipe. I also add a couple of Bay Leaves to it. My recipe had always used 1 cup of dry Red Wine instead of the V8. It does make the taste just different enough that my husband actually tasted the difference. He loves them both. Now that's a miracle. Lol. THANK YOU CAMBELL'S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Filson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
My first attempt ever at a pot roast. It turned out wonderful. The meat was moist and cooked perfectly. Made me think of my dad's roast! Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I'm not sure what I did wrong. I had a 3.25 pound roast and followed the recipe as written, however, my meat was overcooked, my veggies were undercooked, and my sauce never thickened - even after adding more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Delicious and easy. I added little white onions to cook with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States