Swanson® Roasted Tomato and Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
It was ok. I added a couple of minced carrots, and used a concentrated chicken broth. I also increased the garlic. A good quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
My kids ate this up and loved it, but my husband I found it to be "just okay". Just not as much flavor as I would have liked. I did feel that perhaps my tomatoes didn't get roasted enough, so that probably was part of it; I followed the directions and ingredients as written aside from omitting the parsley as we do not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this with chicken boullion cubes and used diced carrot and a cooked diced sweet potato to cut the acidity. I omitted the celery because we don't care for it. I thought the idea of roasting the vegetables to deepen the flavor was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Wonderful!! Put a little more barley than it called for a about two cups of water added as I went. It took way longer than 25 minutes for the veggies and barley to become tender, so it needed the water. Otherwise great, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Good for a quick, easy and inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent soup. I added carrot, about 1 tsp salt and some pepper. Also a few bay leaves. I didn't roast my vegetables, rather I just did about a 5 minute saute of the carrot, celery and onion, and then the garlic for the last minute or so. Then you add in the tomatoes, broth and barley. I don't really recommend quick cook barley, it's more expensive per oz. than pearled... but if you do use it I would simmer the soup a good 40-45 minutes anyway, to let it all come together and become dense and flavorful. Then add the quick cook barley. I used Imagine brand broth. Great recipe, just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I roasted the garlic with sliced onions, and used canned fire roasted tomatoes. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Don't let the short list of ingredients fool you: this soup is so satisfyingly delicious! I used fresh tomatoes and roasting those veggies prior to adding to the soup adds a whole other dimension of flavor. I used organic veggie broth rather than chicken. A change to the recipe indications: I did not add the roasted veggies until right before serving, as I didn't want them to lose that baked flavor & texture while sitting in the soup. Also, if you use quick barley, this soup only needs to simmer for 10 minutes before it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Such a simple and tasty soup! I added a can of mild Rotel because we like a hint of spice. Hubby LOVED it and wants it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This soup is fantastic!!! Just make sure to not over due the barley. I have zero broth because I dumped to much in! Reguardless it is amazing! I added green peppers and Italian seasoning for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States