Swanson® Roasted Tomato and Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
It was ok. I added a couple of minced carrots, and used a concentrated chicken broth. I also increased the garlic. A good quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
My kids ate this up and loved it, but my husband I found it to be "just okay". Just not as much flavor as I would have liked. I did feel that perhaps my tomatoes didn't get roasted enough, so that probably was part of it; I followed the directions and ingredients as written aside from omitting the parsley as we do not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this with chicken boullion cubes and used diced carrot and a cooked diced sweet potato to cut the acidity. I omitted the celery because we don't care for it. I thought the idea of roasting the vegetables to deepen the flavor was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Wonderful!! Put a little more barley than it called for a about two cups of water added as I went. It took way longer than 25 minutes for the veggies and barley to become tender, so it needed the water. Otherwise great, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Good for a quick, easy and inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent soup. I added carrot, about 1 tsp salt and some pepper. Also a few bay leaves. I didn't roast my vegetables, rather I just did about a 5 minute saute of the carrot, celery and onion, and then the garlic for the last minute or so. Then you add in the tomatoes, broth and barley. I don't really recommend quick cook barley, it's more expensive per oz. than pearled... but if you do use it I would simmer the soup a good 40-45 minutes anyway, to let it all come together and become dense and flavorful. Then add the quick cook barley. I used Imagine brand broth. Great recipe, just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I roasted the garlic with sliced onions, and used canned fire roasted tomatoes. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Don't let the short list of ingredients fool you: this soup is so satisfyingly delicious! I used fresh tomatoes and roasting those veggies prior to adding to the soup adds a whole other dimension of flavor. I used organic veggie broth rather than chicken. A change to the recipe indications: I did not add the roasted veggies until right before serving, as I didn't want them to lose that baked flavor & texture while sitting in the soup. Also, if you use quick barley, this soup only needs to simmer for 10 minutes before it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Such a simple and tasty soup! I added a can of mild Rotel because we like a hint of spice. Hubby LOVED it and wants it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This soup is fantastic!!! Just make sure to not over due the barley. I have zero broth because I dumped to much in! Reguardless it is amazing! I added green peppers and Italian seasoning for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States