Swanson® Roasted Chicken with Caramelized Onions Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
add 1/2tsp to full tsp of sugar to the onions it makes them carmelize better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was really good! Don't make the mistake of caramelizing the onions in a separate pan. Use the same pan as the soup so you can get as much of the flavor as possible. Once the onions are done, add the rest of the ingredients as stated. I thought there was a little to much broth. Next time I will reduce broth to 6 cups. This will be the chicken soup recipe I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This soup is surprisingly good! It is simple and good. I did change a couple things, I didn't use the carrots or celery and added a little soy sauce to the broth. It turned out great. Taste was similar to wonton soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
We enjoyed this recipe modified to make it thicker & more stew-like, using only 4 cups chicken broth, about double the chicken meat, no carrots, crushed garlic & 1 cup uncooked quinoa instead of pasta. I also used the same pot for cooking the onions & then adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Pfister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good soup! The caramalized onions make all the difference. I did cook the onions first in the stock pot I cooked the rest of the soup to get all the onion flavor and added a bit of poultry seasoning. I used 1/2 regular chicken broth and 1/2 low sodium broth. Very good simple yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is so good, I cook it the first time it gets cold. The carmelized onions are the key and the best. Since I have made it several times, I also did the onions overnight (or day) in the crockpot method and it was even better if that was possible. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
It is TRULY cold here in the tri-state area and wanted to make chicken soup. Made this one and was disappointed - the soup definitely tasted like Onion soup and maybe I should not have been surprised since it said Carmelized Onion. I would only make this again if I had a desire for Onion soup - I was looking to taste chicken soup with a mild onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is a really nice soup. It's not extraordinary, but it's just a really good soup with nice flavor. I would defintely make it again. My husband (who claims he doesn't like soup), finished off the leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is my new chicken noodle soup recipe. I used mini-bow-ties, so I had to use 3 cups of pasta and the full 8 cups of reduced-sodium broth. Took the advice of adding sugar to caramelize the onions - really good. It's also good with a few shakes of Sazon seasoning right in your bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Yum!! This is a great soup...quick and easy too! I opted for the 6 cups of broth and it seemed just right, and I caramelized the onions in the same saucepan. All the other ingredients I kept the same except I used Rotini pasta. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States