Swanson® Maple Dijon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was Incredible! I made a few minor changes just because I used what I had on hand. I used a small onion instead of the shallots and I just put 2 chicken bullion cubes in 1 cup of hot water. We had real maple syrup and I love maple so I used 1/2 cup of maple syrup instead of the 1/3 cup and I omitted the red pepper. The rest I used exactly as written. This was fantastic!! While on my honeymoon in Disney (at a 5 star restaurant) we had pork chops exactly like this, the taste brought me back. You can definitely substitute a nice thick pork chop in place of the chicken if you wish. Also.. for those complaining that the sauce was too thin. I added my chicken back into the sauce once the sauce was boiling so the chicken would get some of the flavor in it and I cooked mine at a higher temp (almost med) stirring occasionally and it just boiled off and became nice and thick and coated the meat perfectly. Thanks.. This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I changed the recipe to spicy brown mustard instead of Dijon mustard it was fantabulous! I used onion powder because I didn't want to make another trip to the store that night but I came out perfect and it was delicious... definitely would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norgarton Clan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was very simple to make. For a beginning cook just getting used to finding my way in the kitchen the reward was wonderful. The chicken was moist and the flavors complimented each other. Definitely a meal I would prepare to show off for my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Yummy recipe with some changes. I didn't have a shallot so I used regular white onion. I chunked the chicken which was a great call for the following reason: the sauce didn't thicken for me as stated (I used chicken broth) so at the end I decided to just mix the sauce with the chunked chicken still in the pan. My side dish took longer than expected to cook, so by the time I served the chicken the sauce had thickened more. It was great that it was chunked because more of the sauce got on every bite of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: North Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This chicken is family approved! It was sweet yet had a spicy tingle. Being from New England I used REAL maple syrup and I think it made a difference. One problem people seem to have is getting the sauce to thicken. If you only reduce the heat to a simmer the sauce turns out super sticky and thick. I did not cook the chicken on the stove top but used the grill. This will be a great summer supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arose623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
It was tasty, however next time I would grill the meat instead of frying it. The entire family loved it! We served it with Pierogies, it was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie121277

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dansville, New York, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was ok, something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
More like 3.5, but I will try it again. The liquid didn't thicken well, but that may be because I used broth instead of stock. I put in a pinch of cornstarch in the last few minutes I had it simmering on the stove, but it didn't make much difference. The taste was good, though and my chicken breast came out juicy on its own so the sauce was a nice compliment despite it not coming out exactly as described. I would use more maple syrup and a tad less mustard the second time around. I paired it w. Pasta Pomodoro and Parmesan Asparagus, which have both become quick favorites of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The flavor of this dish was great and it was simple to put together. The only trouble I had was with the sauce thickening, not sure if that was because I used real maple syrup or not but a little cornstarch did the trick ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was ok- the sauce didn't thicken very well- but it smelled good -the flavoring would have been good if the sauce would have thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States