Swan's Summer Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This soup is so good, I can barely stand it. I'm a gazpacho-junkie so this dish couldn't have been tastier. I must admit, I cheated a bit. I used commercially canned tomato juice...but that bumped up the quickness rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Divine! I always use tomato juice in lieu of juicing the tomatoes (I don't have a juice extractor) in this recipe. And for tonight's dinner party I added little salad shrimp. It's delicious, refreshing and GONE way too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
I prefer to squish tomatoes instead of using the juice. It tastes fresher and there's something satisfying about squishing tomatoes in a colander. I use about 8 largeish tomatoes to make 3 or for modest servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
We were pleasantly surprised how good this recipe was. I was very skeptical about how this mixture of ingredients would turn out. We have never tried a cold soup before because it never sounded all that appealing. After I mixed everything together and took a look at the soup, I thought to myself, "yuck" and quickly made a plan B for dinner (pizza delivered). I took a taste and was shocked at how good it was! We ate it all. Great flavor and consistency. I did what HIPPYJEN75 did and made “Grilled Poblano Pepper and Mango Quesadillas” using the mango filling from the “Fish Tacos with Tropical Fruit Salsa” recipe we recently made. Everything turned out delicious. The only difficulty with this recipe is finding GOOD tomatoes. I went to 3 different stores looking for tomatoes and was not happy with any, so I broke down and used canned tomato juice. I did buy two vine ripened tomatoes to dice up for the soup, but even they had no tomato flavor. Does anyone know where to buy/get GOOD tomatoes that TASTE like tomatoes? We will make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I substituted the chopped Tomatoes w/Hunts Petite diced Tomatoes and added a dash of Tabasco. This soup is FANTASTIC on a hot Summer evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
My family had low expectations for this recipe. I'd never made a cold soup for dinner before and both daughter and husband were skeptical. Well, after they tasted this delicious soup, they were pleasantly surprised. My husband even went back for seconds! I served this with the Grilled Poblano Pepper and Mango Quesadillas from this site. My husband said that this must be added to the rotation. Thanks so much for the delicious recipe. Oh, and taking the time to juice the tomatoes is worth it, as well as having the freshest ingredients that you can find. The only change I made was to use dried cilantro (the store was out of fresh) and also used fresh basil because I had some and wanted fresh herb included. Again, thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
It takes a bit of time to juice the tomatoes, but it's well worth the trouble. Get the ripest tomatoes you can find and the flavor will be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Wow! This is perfect for spring and summer when fresh tomatoes and corn are at their peak. I boiled 4 ears of corn for about 10 minutes, let them cool, and cut them off of the cob. I also used parsley instead of cilantro. This is absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
So fresh tasting!! Use the garden fresh tomatoes. Lovely summer soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCPRNMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
this was amazing! the tomatoe flavoring was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States