Swan's Summer Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I like this - a very nice summer soup. My only changes were to add a couple of large sea scallops to the soup. I marinated thin slices of the scallops in a bath of fresh lime juice and onions for a couple of hours. I then added the drained scallops to the soup. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knittin'cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chamblee, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I was a bit disappointed by how bland this turned out. Like someone else said, it tastes like just a bunch of ingredients thrown together. I used prepared tomato juice since I don't have a juice extractor and I didn't have corn on hand, so I threw in a bit of chopped bell pepper. After reading a few more reviews, I threw in a dash or two of celery salt, and some hot sauce. I guess cold soup is an acquired taste, because I couldn't even finish a bowl of it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was more like a salsa to me. I would definitely throw in some canned tomato juice as my 10 tomatoes only produced about 1/2 cups of juice. I will probably not be making this again, unless I am making a salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrysNBoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This recipe was really good, but seemed a tad bland. I added cucumbers, diced orange bell peppers, chopped basil, and a dash or 2 of Tobasco and some celery salt. With the lime juice, I added an equal amount of orange juice. Also, as I don't have a juicer, my wrists and hand started to ache from mashing the tomatoes by hand and since it didn't yield as much juice as I had expected, I ran to the store quickly and bought 2 bottles of organic tomato juice to add to my fresh juice. This was even filling enough for my 6'4, 220lb human "eating machine" that I live with. Next time I want to add a shot of fresh wheat grass for some serious vitamin boosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmericanInZurich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This soup is fine, but it tasted more like a bunch of ingredients thrown together. I was expecting a more interesting flavor. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Fabulous, refreshing, and yet a satisfying finish to a hot summer day... freshness and quality of ingredients is imperative. Like others, I used prepared tomato juice to start, tomatoes from the garden, fresh (uncooked) corn off the cob, and threw in some fresh basil too. I served it along with some sauteed baby scallops, which my husband put in with his soup and enjoyed that way. And, as someone suggested.... the loaf of three-cheese bread and fresh, fruity olive oil was super!! I might suggest preparing, chilling, and serving the soup in the same day to keep the flavors their freshest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I wouldn't rate this recipe 'The best' coz I am sure there are better recipes out there. But this soup is a pretty darned good one. Very refreshing as lunch/dinner on a hot summer day. I juiced 4 fresh tomatoes and added a good meaure of baby carrots to the juicer as well. So the soup base was a combination of carrot and tomato juice. To this juice I added 4 bruised/smashed, garlic cloves to add some flavor. I then rubbed the cloves into the juice with my hands, making sure the cloves did not disintegrate. I then fished out the pieces of garlic. I cheated and used canned corn. But all the other ingredients were fresh. I love lemon juice in my soups, so I was generous with it and the pepper. I finished it off by adding a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil straight into the soup and gave it a stir. Served this soup with slices of crusty three cheese bread from Panera and a side of Low fat cucumber & dill salad. My family thoroughly enjoyed this soup. I will definitely make it again when I need something light, refreshing and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
this was amazing! the tomatoe flavoring was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Wow! This is perfect for spring and summer when fresh tomatoes and corn are at their peak. I boiled 4 ears of corn for about 10 minutes, let them cool, and cut them off of the cob. I also used parsley instead of cilantro. This is absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
We were pleasantly surprised how good this recipe was. I was very skeptical about how this mixture of ingredients would turn out. We have never tried a cold soup before because it never sounded all that appealing. After I mixed everything together and took a look at the soup, I thought to myself, "yuck" and quickly made a plan B for dinner (pizza delivered). I took a taste and was shocked at how good it was! We ate it all. Great flavor and consistency. I did what HIPPYJEN75 did and made “Grilled Poblano Pepper and Mango Quesadillas” using the mango filling from the “Fish Tacos with Tropical Fruit Salsa” recipe we recently made. Everything turned out delicious. The only difficulty with this recipe is finding GOOD tomatoes. I went to 3 different stores looking for tomatoes and was not happy with any, so I broke down and used canned tomato juice. I did buy two vine ripened tomatoes to dice up for the soup, but even they had no tomato flavor. Does anyone know where to buy/get GOOD tomatoes that TASTE like tomatoes? We will make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States