Swabian Meatballs (Fleischkuechle) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made these meatballs to put into baked spaghetti. The flavor in this recipe is FANTASTIC...I served 6 people and even the picky eater ate them. I liked the method of soaking the bread in the milk beforehand, but needed to adjust the milk-bread ratio a bit because the meatballs ended up a bit mushy for my taste. RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have wanted a perfect german meatball recipe for YEARS,this is even better than my german grandmothers!!!This tastes exactly like the meatballs I buy at a local deli that my family loves. I didn't have to modify anything in the ingredients, but I did sub the beef with elk, cause I have a freezer full!! I also rolled them in flour before frying. yummy, yummy yummy, I already wrote this in my family'a "holygrail" cookboook...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARABEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My kinder are very picky about food. They completely demolished this recipe. Very tasty. The butter is a must, it absorbed well by the bread. ( I used an extra roll to reduce the potential sogginess of zie meatball. Zer Gut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Made recipe exactly and the whole family loved it. The leftovers were added to spaghetti sauce and again was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
very good, taste just like Oma's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Pretty tasty. I did try it plain (good taste) and with ketchup on top (still good but more meatloafy taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good mellow seasoning and the pork makes it very tasty. Be sure to drain about 70% of the fat or you'll feel queasy after! Flavors improve after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Tasted absolutly fab. Whole family loved it. I served them with brown gravy over egg noodles. The only problem I had was the meatballs tended to fall apart while frying so I had to tranfer them to a baking sheet and bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerfaire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Amazing! thanks a bunch! I made it with speatzle from this site and poured gravy on all of it. I grew up there and never learned how to cook anything german, so this was a very nice treat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammyiam

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States