Swabian Meatballs (Fleischkuechle) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made these meatballs to put into baked spaghetti. The flavor in this recipe is FANTASTIC...I served 6 people and even the picky eater ate them. I liked the method of soaking the bread in the milk beforehand, but needed to adjust the milk-bread ratio a bit because the meatballs ended up a bit mushy for my taste. RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I have wanted a perfect german meatball recipe for YEARS,this is even better than my german grandmothers!!!This tastes exactly like the meatballs I buy at a local deli that my family loves. I didn't have to modify anything in the ingredients, but I did sub the beef with elk, cause I have a freezer full!! I also rolled them in flour before frying. yummy, yummy yummy, I already wrote this in my family'a "holygrail" cookboook...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARABEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My kinder are very picky about food. They completely demolished this recipe. Very tasty. The butter is a must, it absorbed well by the bread. ( I used an extra roll to reduce the potential sogginess of zie meatball. Zer Gut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Made recipe exactly and the whole family loved it. The leftovers were added to spaghetti sauce and again was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
very good, taste just like Oma's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Pretty tasty. I did try it plain (good taste) and with ketchup on top (still good but more meatloafy taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good mellow seasoning and the pork makes it very tasty. Be sure to drain about 70% of the fat or you'll feel queasy after! Flavors improve after a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Tasted absolutly fab. Whole family loved it. I served them with brown gravy over egg noodles. The only problem I had was the meatballs tended to fall apart while frying so I had to tranfer them to a baking sheet and bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerfaire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Amazing! thanks a bunch! I made it with speatzle from this site and poured gravy on all of it. I grew up there and never learned how to cook anything german, so this was a very nice treat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammyiam

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States