Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I was looking for a new side dish and decided to try these. Being single, I halved the recipe to cut down on left overs I probably wouldn't eat. At first I really didn't notice a big difference in the flavor (vs my standard mashers) but then all of a sudden that sour cream, butter, and milk just hit me and before I knew it I almost finished half the bowl! Somehow I put the rest in the fridge clutching the bowl and saying "my preeeecious" in an unfamiliar voice! Lol! Thank you for a wonderful recipe and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Love them exactly as is! Added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Tthis recipe is fantastic, of course what's not to love about potatoes and a half a cup of butter with sour cream, it's a winner! I did add just a smidgeon of garlic, not enough to make it "garlic mashed" but just enough to give it the richness that garlic imparts, 1/2 clove minced and mashed. It's now a basic keeper in this family and since we are always trying to lower our carb intake I'm going to take someones advice next time and substitute half potato for half cauliflower. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
It tastes really good, I just added 1/2 a cup of cream cheese for more flavor. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherylAnneFlorence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Good starter recipe. It definitely takes longer than 10 minutes to cook the potatoes to the right tenderness. I also recommend returning them to the same pot after draining, as the residual heat soaks up any excess moisture. I added some shredded cheddar cheese to give it some extra flavor. Great staple side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Yum! Made this last night for my family and they were amazing! I loved that I didn't have to peel them! I added crushed garlic and chicken broth to the water when boiling. I also heated the milk, sour cream and butter in a saucepan before adding.. And some extra crushed garlic, salt and parsley flakes.. They were sooooo delicious!! I did a 5 pound bag of the red potatoes :) definitely my new mashed potato recipe!!! Paired them with steaks my hubby grilled up on the BBQ and green salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Yum! I was in search of a no-frills, basic mashed potato recipe to serve alongside my salmon dinner and this fit the bill perfectly!!! To boot, I didn't have to fuss over peeling potatoes and got a nice nutritional benefit from it! My only complaint is that the suggested amount of servings is way off. I decided to cut this down to six servings since I was only serving four adults (all I could find were 1 1/2 lb. bags of potatoes or SUPER large (3+ lb.) ones hence the odd serving size). After making my first batch of potatoes, I realized there was not NEARLY enough servings, especially if anyone wanted a second helping. I sent my husband to the grocery store to pick up more potatoes and made a second batch. I had just enough to serve four HUNGRY adults. If you want generous helpings and are feeding a crowd I STRONGLY suggest that you make a MINIMUM of six servings worth of potatoes. NOTE: I try to use fat-free / reduced-fat ingredients whenever I can. I did this time and no one could tell the difference. Thanks for sharing your recipe, B.T. These were hands down the best - rich, creamy and absolutely delicious! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Such an easy and versatile recipe! Made this several times following the exact recipe and everyone loved it. I've also melted the butter over a low heat with some garlic added and let that heat for a few minutes and then cool to room temperature before adding to the potatoes. Everyone loves them and overall this is a very easy, foolproof recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
LOVE IT! It only took 10 minutes to boil the potatoes. I do suggest letting the potatoes cool enough that you can peel most of them before mashing. I started mashing before peeling and found I didn't like the look of all the peels in it. So I spent time picking most of them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
why does everybody change the recipe. it was deeelish the original way, thanks for sharing suzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States