Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Delish, one slight change. I just didn't add a whole stick of butter. My kids like to add a bit on their own. So, I'd rather them put a pat on themselves then to over butter their potatoes. But all in all, simple, easy and tasty. Thanks. I'll make again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This recipe was great. I normally would leave on the skins but someone else prepped them and spent a long time getting the skins off. I put all the ingredients in my Kitchenaid mixer and mixed it for a while...also I used cream instead of milk... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pais

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
These mashed potatoes are thee BOMB! fat an all, buttered up is the key. I guess you can try different variations cutting fat here and there.The only thing I did different was heat up the butter, milk, and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I love mashed red potatoes! Solid, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Not my Irish MIL mashed potatoes but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I actually enjoy when people give alternatives that they tried or suggestions for changes to the recipe. No one has to take their advice but i'm glad they're there, they've helped me quite often. I made these mashed potatoes and they were very good!!! I followed the recipe close but also added some crushed garlic like other reviewers. I actually mashed these in my crockpot and then turned it on to keep them warm. My family went back for seconds and thirds!!! My aunt suggested adding some ranch dressing instead of, or in addition to part of the sour cream to make these potatoes more appealing to the younger crowd. Her young sons liked that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Delicious! I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I cut the butter by half and used part garlic salt, super easy to make (I hate peeling potatoes) and tasty! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We try to eat relatively well so often I make mashed cauliflower instead of potatoes because we enjoy it almost as much. When my husband requested ribs for Super Bowl Sunday, however, I decided to “go big or stay home” as he always says and look for a recipe for some killer mashed potatoes. These fit the bill! Although I kept the other 3 Tablespoon handy in case I needed to add them at the end, I only needed 5 Tablespoons of butter. I warmed the butter with lowfat milk and crushed garlic, stirring in some light sour cream to warm at the end. If you can find Daisy brand light sour cream in your area, I highly recommend it. It is fresh and flavorful and difficult to tell that it is not full fat. I know that warming the liquid ingredients may sound like that dreaded extra step, but it makes a huge difference in the texture of mashed potatoes. Even with my lower fat changes these potatoes tasted decadent and delicious and will grace my table over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
These are awesome! I added a little bit of finely chopped garlic and followed someone else's recommendation of warming the butter/milk/sour cream/garlic first, prior to mixing it in with the potatoes. Added salt, pepper and freshly chopped parsley to top it off, and they were excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States