Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We try to eat relatively well so often I make mashed cauliflower instead of potatoes because we enjoy it almost as much. When my husband requested ribs for Super Bowl Sunday, however, I decided to “go big or stay home” as he always says and look for a recipe for some killer mashed potatoes. These fit the bill! Although I kept the other 3 Tablespoon handy in case I needed to add them at the end, I only needed 5 Tablespoons of butter. I warmed the butter with lowfat milk and crushed garlic, stirring in some light sour cream to warm at the end. If you can find Daisy brand light sour cream in your area, I highly recommend it. It is fresh and flavorful and difficult to tell that it is not full fat. I know that warming the liquid ingredients may sound like that dreaded extra step, but it makes a huge difference in the texture of mashed potatoes. Even with my lower fat changes these potatoes tasted decadent and delicious and will grace my table over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
These are awesome! I added a little bit of finely chopped garlic and followed someone else's recommendation of warming the butter/milk/sour cream/garlic first, prior to mixing it in with the potatoes. Added salt, pepper and freshly chopped parsley to top it off, and they were excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
My family really enjoyed these. I used a 5 pound bag and subbed the milk with soy milk. I used soy sour cream, and added 1/2 cup soy cream cheese. Added some dried parsley flakes and a healthy dose of garlic powder. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
YUM!!! I even finished these about 1/2 hr. before I need them. I put them in the oven @200 and they were great. Served them with Chicken Fried Chicken from this site. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Oh wow! I've never made my own mashed potatoes from scratch, but on a whim, I decided to try it tonight. I found this recipe earlier in the evening, had all the ingredients, and thought I'd give it a shot. They're PERFECT! So glad this was the first recipe I tried--my friends are going to be impressed for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very good and very easy. Most ingredients I already had. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Tasty mash potatoes I did take the suggestion of another reviewer and heat the butter, milk and sour cream up before adding it to the potatoes worked out great seemed to make the potatoes extra creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We loved this! I didn't have sour cream on hand, but I had ranch dip that I made with a Hidden Valley packet and sour cream. I loved the ranch flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were so creamy- the texture was absolutely perfect. I have always preferred mashed potatoes with the skins still on so this recipe was right up my ally. My potatoes needed to cook 15 minutes before they were "mashable." At the suggestion of other reviewers, I melted the butter and browned 2 cloves of fresh garlic in it to make these garlic mashed potatoes (SO good), although I am sure they would be delcious plain. Thanks- we will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States