Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
First off, it really makes me mad that no one rates the recipe anymore, they just type in their own recipe. You either rate it and say why you like it, or rate it and say why you hate or, or you just rate it and leave no comment at all. It's really simple to do. So here is my rating::: I LOVED IT. Everyone in my family loved it, I made the recipe AS IS and I kept it warm in the crockpot. It was great, my whole family thought it was great, and I will make it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
873 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Nice twist! I made these for dinner and really enjoyed the flavor. Like another reviewer I added some crushed garlic. The only other change I make is, while the potatoes are draining in the colander, I warm the milk, butter, garlic, and sour cream together and then add the potatoes. That way cold ingredients aren't being added to my hot potatoes and the flavor of the garlic is released with the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Kids love it! Quick and easy to make. Peels are nutritious. Very important to boil the water before you add the potatos or it will be too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I dont agree with BTRACY02. I love when people add additions to the reviews, It gives me other ideas. THANK YOU!! These mashed potatoes were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Been making potatoes like this for some time, but slight variation. I first chop a couple cloves of garlic and finely chop onion. Brown in butter or margarine, add to potatoes. Also instead of sour cream, use yogurt. Garnish w/ parsley flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I changed things just a touch to make them lower in carbs so that I could enjoy them with my family. I steamed one pound of red potatoes and one half head of cauliflower together with a couple cloves of garlic. Very good with the Cola Pot Roast also listed on this site. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
Wonderful! It's so nice not to have to peel the potatos. It was a big hit with my family! This is also good when you put the finished product in a casserole dish, sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top, and bake until it's bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I thought this recipe looked a little blah to me, so I kicked it up a notch. I sauted some green onion and garlic like others had said, and I also added some rosemary. The rosemary gave it such a wonderful aroma and flavor! I made this to go along with Cranberry Pork Roast (also on this website). The gravy from the roast over the potatoes was fabulous! What a wonderful meal for the beginning of fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing. No need to add garlic unless you want Garlic Red Mashed Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Great potatoes! I sauteed a clove of garlic with my butter to make them garlic mashed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States