Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
It tastes really good, I just added 1/2 a cup of cream cheese for more flavor. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Good starter recipe. It definitely takes longer than 10 minutes to cook the potatoes to the right tenderness. I also recommend returning them to the same pot after draining, as the residual heat soaks up any excess moisture. I added some shredded cheddar cheese to give it some extra flavor. Great staple side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Yum! Made this last night for my family and they were amazing! I loved that I didn't have to peel them! I added crushed garlic and chicken broth to the water when boiling. I also heated the milk, sour cream and butter in a saucepan before adding.. And some extra crushed garlic, salt and parsley flakes.. They were sooooo delicious!! I did a 5 pound bag of the red potatoes :) definitely my new mashed potato recipe!!! Paired them with steaks my hubby grilled up on the BBQ and green salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Yum! I was in search of a no-frills, basic mashed potato recipe to serve alongside my salmon dinner and this fit the bill perfectly!!! To boot, I didn't have to fuss over peeling potatoes and got a nice nutritional benefit from it! My only complaint is that the suggested amount of servings is way off. I decided to cut this down to six servings since I was only serving four adults (all I could find were 1 1/2 lb. bags of potatoes or SUPER large (3+ lb.) ones hence the odd serving size). After making my first batch of potatoes, I realized there was not NEARLY enough servings, especially if anyone wanted a second helping. I sent my husband to the grocery store to pick up more potatoes and made a second batch. I had just enough to serve four HUNGRY adults. If you want generous helpings and are feeding a crowd I STRONGLY suggest that you make a MINIMUM of six servings worth of potatoes. NOTE: I try to use fat-free / reduced-fat ingredients whenever I can. I did this time and no one could tell the difference. Thanks for sharing your recipe, B.T. These were hands down the best - rich, creamy and absolutely delicious! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Such an easy and versatile recipe! Made this several times following the exact recipe and everyone loved it. I've also melted the butter over a low heat with some garlic added and let that heat for a few minutes and then cool to room temperature before adding to the potatoes. Everyone loves them and overall this is a very easy, foolproof recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
LOVE IT! It only took 10 minutes to boil the potatoes. I do suggest letting the potatoes cool enough that you can peel most of them before mashing. I started mashing before peeling and found I didn't like the look of all the peels in it. So I spent time picking most of them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
why does everybody change the recipe. it was deeelish the original way, thanks for sharing suzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I just tried this recipe and my entire family loved it. Best mashed patatoes ive ever had, i actually used half and half instead of milk. Thery were awesome thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I think this is my new go-to potato recipe. I didn't do anything to change it, followed to the letter. It was crowd pleasing and we only had a small amount leftover. Almost everyone went back for seconds. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Substituted Philly cream cheese for sour cream. Delish! Cut serving size in half. Put quartered red potatoes in a microwave steamer (tupperware) with a tiny splash of water and some salt. Microwaved for 10 minutes. Mashed up potatoes, 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup cream cheese, and added a bit of chopped garlic. Salt & Pepper to taste. Hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States