Suzanne's Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Wow, my first experience with shortcrust pastry was a disaster! While prebaking, the sides collapsed (I used spring pan as it's the only one I've got) and the beans I put at the bottom to prevent it from going bubbly managed to mix with the pastry. Took an hour to fish them out. But the quiche turned out lovely! My mate who almost never has seconds is still munching it in the kitchen. I used a small brown onion instead of green onions and sautéed it in butter with 3 cloves garlic and mushrooms. I also used half yoghurt half cream and added 2 extra oz of Cheddar cheese to the top 20 minutes before the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Delicious! I used fat-free sour cream. I also added 2 more eggs. It required cooking 15 minutes longer, but came out perfect! I recommend Pillsbury ready pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I love the idea of using yogurt instead of cream or half-n-half. It gives the quiche a tangy taste; have used it alot and shared to many of my vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kungaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
this recipe was great! i left out the green onions and used sour cream with chives instead of the plain yogurt. i also sauteed the mushrooms. i definitely should have made more -- it's already half gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I definitely screwed up somewhere. This one didn't turn out so well. I made it with yogurt, but didn't know how to cut the yogurt tang that I suspected it would have. I tried adding garlic powder, black pepper, chili powder, and curry. The curry was a mistake. UGH! I also didn't drain the frozen spinach after thawing it (I didn't want to lose the vitamins, but the quiche came out solid). And I didn't have any mushrooms or cheddar cheese. But I did have some parmesan cheese mix that I sprinkled on top. I didn't have the green onions either, so I subbed a quarter cup of red onion. I'll definitely try it again, as the other reviewers seemed to like it. And definitely will leave out the curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Great!! My kids loved it and so did I!!! Thank you for this simple recipe. This is a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I added pepper to mine to make it a bit more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Also made a couple changes, but an excellent quiche resulted, so that's what counts! Combined this recipe with "Spinach Quiche" (by Bailey) for a winner. ...Combine 6 strips crumbled bacon, 9oz. fresh spinach (wilted), browned onions & garlic in a 9"crust; top with 1c. cheddar; mix 3 eggs, 1c. yogurt, salt & pepper - pour over spinach; bake 15 min.; top with remaining cheddar; bake 30 min. till done. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
I think that this is a great recipe... though i would encourage people to mix the cheese in with the yogurt mixture so that it spreads throughout the quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
The yogurt gave this recipe a sweet/bitter taste. I chose this because it had fewer calories. Next time I will use sour cream. It tastes too low cal. This may be all right if you have never eaten quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States