Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was really good, made it with avocado and imitation lobster, served with wasabi paste and siracha sauce on the side. Rice had great flavor and held together, rolled like a dream, even without heating the nori. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This was a really easy recipe. I didn't add sugar and the rice was great. We added cream chse and asparagus (yum yum). The only thing we didn't care for was the imitation crab, it had no flavor. But we will definite try it again with different ingredients. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MiMi
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
decent recipe.. I used long grain white rice and used 2 tbsp sugar. couldn't find avocado so I used cream cheese instead.. turned out pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is the first time I make sushi and it was better than the restaurants! My family wants it on a weekly basis plus birthdays and holidays lol! I couldn't believe the kids loved it so much, the youngest is 4! My other son who's been eating sushi since 3 (now 10 ), also said it's the best ever! Sushi is his favorite food and he knows his stuff when it comes to sushi. He usually has 4 rolls on his own, if not more, at the restaurant and I'm so happy I found this recipe. This is cost effective and tastes amazing! The ingredient proportions were right on. Don't change a thing and follow the recipe exactly as it is, just prefect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This one was like mush…wet and chewy... and had way too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Well, I tried this and as is my way completely winged it, I had some already cooked wrong sort of rice. With the addition of the wrong vinegar (balsamic) some soy sauce fish sauce and oyster sauce with sugar mixed in I then spread the rice out on the nori then stuck a couple of fish sticks, some chopped olives, a squirt of alioli sauce then rolled it up with a tea towel. When I tried to cut it everything fell to bits. With the second nori I kept it a bit drier and it worked a bit better. But it tasted great! Oh, and I added toasted seed to it as well because it was there. This I will master with the help of the fridge before cutting and also putting less rice in before rolling! The vinegar thing is key to the taste and fish sauce (thai) added something too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Reynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
this recipe is amazing, my group decided on this recipe. ourr ice turned out a little vinergar but other than that it was amazing, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Way to much salt and sugar. I made a batch with 1 full cup of rice. Besides, already enough salt in the dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
We made these for a New Year's Eve party with a family who was gluten-free. They couldn't believe how easy these were to make and how tasty. I found out later that soy sauce has gluten in it, however, but everyone at the party loved these. They were the first things to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I'm going to agree with Mommyof2CutiePies after trying this recipe for myself. While the rice vinegar sugar mixture does make the rice taste like sushi rice rather than ordinary bland rice, it is WAY too overpowering and sweet. This was my first attempt at sushi and I thought I would try this recipe since it has such high reviews, but it has left me wondering if either everyone who rated it highly tweaked it, or if they just haven't had good sushi... Again, I wasn't expecting this to come out amazing being my first attempt, but it was simply inedible, even after a second try. I am going to research some more recipes for sushi rice and have to experiment to try to create an edible sushi roll. If you try this recipe out, I would recommend slowly adding the rice vinegar mixture a little at a time to taste. I might even cut a table spoon of sugar out of the mix. Slight tweaking of this recipe may bring it from a 2 star to at least a 4 star if not higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States