Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is the first time I make sushi and it was better than the restaurants! My family wants it on a weekly basis plus birthdays and holidays lol! I couldn't believe the kids loved it so much, the youngest is 4! My other son who's been eating sushi since 3 (now 10 ), also said it's the best ever! Sushi is his favorite food and he knows his stuff when it comes to sushi. He usually has 4 rolls on his own, if not more, at the restaurant and I'm so happy I found this recipe. This is cost effective and tastes amazing! The ingredient proportions were right on. Don't change a thing and follow the recipe exactly as it is, just prefect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This one was like mush…wet and chewy... and had way too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Well, I tried this and as is my way completely winged it, I had some already cooked wrong sort of rice. With the addition of the wrong vinegar (balsamic) some soy sauce fish sauce and oyster sauce with sugar mixed in I then spread the rice out on the nori then stuck a couple of fish sticks, some chopped olives, a squirt of alioli sauce then rolled it up with a tea towel. When I tried to cut it everything fell to bits. With the second nori I kept it a bit drier and it worked a bit better. But it tasted great! Oh, and I added toasted seed to it as well because it was there. This I will master with the help of the fridge before cutting and also putting less rice in before rolling! The vinegar thing is key to the taste and fish sauce (thai) added something too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Reynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
this recipe is amazing, my group decided on this recipe. ourr ice turned out a little vinergar but other than that it was amazing, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Way to much salt and sugar. I made a batch with 1 full cup of rice. Besides, already enough salt in the dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
We made these for a New Year's Eve party with a family who was gluten-free. They couldn't believe how easy these were to make and how tasty. I found out later that soy sauce has gluten in it, however, but everyone at the party loved these. They were the first things to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I'm going to agree with Mommyof2CutiePies after trying this recipe for myself. While the rice vinegar sugar mixture does make the rice taste like sushi rice rather than ordinary bland rice, it is WAY too overpowering and sweet. This was my first attempt at sushi and I thought I would try this recipe since it has such high reviews, but it has left me wondering if either everyone who rated it highly tweaked it, or if they just haven't had good sushi... Again, I wasn't expecting this to come out amazing being my first attempt, but it was simply inedible, even after a second try. I am going to research some more recipes for sushi rice and have to experiment to try to create an edible sushi roll. If you try this recipe out, I would recommend slowly adding the rice vinegar mixture a little at a time to taste. I might even cut a table spoon of sugar out of the mix. Slight tweaking of this recipe may bring it from a 2 star to at least a 4 star if not higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have made it for a birthday present and as the main for my parents anniversary. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was my 1st ever sushi roll making recipe. However in saying that, I found a few things that made it difficult. I followed the rice making to a T and will say after nearly 25 minutes on the stove, it looked like porridge. I'll stick to making rice in my rice cooker. The result in which adding the sugar, salt and rice vinegar made it extremely wet, not dry-ish sticky. It also made the nori tear-able. That also resulted in 3 massacred rolls before I realized...strain off the liquid. I even went and sought out sushi videos, just to be clear at what I was doing wrong and it was the rice. Next time, increase the adjustments to 1:1 cup ratio. And follow through with the said amounts of rice vinegar, sugar and salt. I couldn't find pickled ginger anywhere, so I left it out. And another note to help with rolling, I found if I laid down a sheet of plastic wrap over my mat, it helped keep the mat clean and kept my ingredients together when I was assembling and rolling them up. Made for clean, tight and uniformed sushi rolls. Will make again even though the rice components gave me a problem in the beginning. My daughter was happy with the end result and asked me to help her learn. So she could make her own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I make this as a special treat for my kids. I like it but it still lacks something that'll make it seem like the ones I get in a Japanese restaurant. Still a nice taste and super easy to put together. Just make sure to get the sushi rolling mat...it makes all the difference in making a tight and even roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

How to Make a California Roll

Learn the secrets to rolling the perfect California roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States