Sushi-Inspired Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great idea! All I had on hand was wheat bread, and it tasted fine to me. Also I used wasabi paste and pickled ginger paste in tubes I had picked up at an international grocer. The green onion adds a nice crispness... better than tuna salads with celery, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Long overdue enhancement to tuna salad. Seriously though, start with NO MORE THAN 1/4 CUP of mayo, maybe less. Better yet, double everything else, but cut the mayo in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I'm giving this five stars because it really just hit the spot. Plus, it is pretty creative, and fast and cheap. Here are my adjustments: - Less mayo and used homemade mayo. - Wrapped into a romaine leaf instead of on bread. - Didn't have wasabi paste, so used powder and added about a tsp. of yellow mustard powder. - Added a little white pepper. Next time I might just try wrapping this in nori with a bunch of julienned veggies. Can't wait to try it with paste (powder didn't have the kick I like) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
As is it still kinda tastes like generic tuna salad, and I absolutely LOVE sushi. In all fairness, I added pickled sushi ginger instead of fresh. Not sure if that made a difference. I will try it again with Japanese salad dressing as another reviewer stated because I do think this one has potential. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Excellent take on tuna salad. I just made this it was great. I took it one step further. I whipped up some salad dressing the type used at Sushi/Japanese restaurants (I used a recipe on this site called "Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing"). I chopped some lettuce: (I used mixed greens which was all I had and was fine but) iceberg would be most appropriate. I mixed the chopped celery and the dressing - like a chopped salad- and put it on top of the tuna between two pieces of bread as a true sushi-inspired tuna sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was great! I didn't have wasabi or fresh ginger, so I substituted horsradish and ginger paste. I wraped it up in a flatbread wrap, and lunch was ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
It's a different take on tuna salad. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Great idea for tuna salad! Once I got going on it, I made a few changes... for a double bacth, I used: 2 6oz cans tuna in water, drained 3/4 cup mayo 1 green onion, diced (2-3 tbsp) 1 tbsp wasabi or to taste. 1 tsp canned chopped ginger 2 hard boiled eggs, diced 1/4 cup diced cucumber 2 tsp soy sauce or to taste Cucumber works well as it is in many different sushi rolls. I used Japanese soy sauce as it isn't as salty. I just used 2 packets I had left from the sushi restaurant. For Tuna Melt sandwich, lightly toast 2 slices of bread, spread tuna salad on one side, cover with cheese, and place in toaster oven, or 6-8 inches under broiler for 3-5 minutes or until cheese is melted. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I really enjoyed this. The usual (tuna with mayo and diced cucumbers) can get kind of boring. This really spiced up lunch. I have now made this several times. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
seriously yummy, my husband adored it (he literally licked his plate). Shall most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States