Sushi-Inspired Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Quick and easy. I added jar minced ginger instead(in the fridge), threw it on a salad and sprinkled with rice vinegar as a dressing. Instant healthy lunch! And it helped my sushi craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWATwife
Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This is a great lower-carb way to enjoy a sushi-like experience. I concur with Katie B that adding rice vinegar (possibly seasoned, which includes a splash of sugar and salt) makes a nice touch. Next time I'll try it with pickled ginger for even more authentic sushi taste, a sprinkle of sesame seeds on top (mostly for show) and/or a drizzle of Japanese style spicy-mayo. Add wasabi slowly, tasting as you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I ate sushi tuna sandwiches with some boiled red potatoes, and I thought it was great. The wasabi was too much for me. Make sure to take it before adding the whole amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srgothard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I absolutely LOVED this! I used wasabi powder because that's what was in the cupboard, ground ginger (ditto), and added both a little at a time until it was how I wanted it. Also, I didn't need 1/2c of mayo - just a couple of heaped tbsps. I used the tuna salad to top a couple of split toasted buttered English muffins - the contrasting textures worked extremely well. I really really enjoyed this, and can't wait to make it again for lunch tomorrow! Thanks! (PS, I did indeed make it the next day. I made it into a regular sandwich for husband - on white bread, as recommended - and while he still really enjoyed it, he said it was MUCH better on the toasted muffin. I have to agree!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I don't think I'm going to make another kind of tuna salad again! It's great and it really helps with the sushi cravings. My bf said he liked this better than chicken salad and he's normally more a chicken person than a tuna person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Canned tuna is so much better with soy sauce especially in a "sushi" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is my new favorite tuna salad...and I eat a lot of tuna! You can customize it to suit your individual tastes, and it works perfectly for low-carb lettuce wraps! To make it even simpler, you can buy the Wasabi Mayonnaise at your local grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
My boyfriend really wanted to try this, but I don't like tuna! We compromised by using shredded crab instead of tuna. Another great variation: the same sandwich with melted cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very good!! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.K.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was great Jen! I had wasabi/mayo in the house so I was thrilled to find this little recipe. Different and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States