Sushi-Inspired Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great idea! All I had on hand was wheat bread, and it tasted fine to me. Also I used wasabi paste and pickled ginger paste in tubes I had picked up at an international grocer. The green onion adds a nice crispness... better than tuna salads with celery, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Long overdue enhancement to tuna salad. Seriously though, start with NO MORE THAN 1/4 CUP of mayo, maybe less. Better yet, double everything else, but cut the mayo in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I'm giving this five stars because it really just hit the spot. Plus, it is pretty creative, and fast and cheap. Here are my adjustments: - Less mayo and used homemade mayo. - Wrapped into a romaine leaf instead of on bread. - Didn't have wasabi paste, so used powder and added about a tsp. of yellow mustard powder. - Added a little white pepper. Next time I might just try wrapping this in nori with a bunch of julienned veggies. Can't wait to try it with paste (powder didn't have the kick I like) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
As is it still kinda tastes like generic tuna salad, and I absolutely LOVE sushi. In all fairness, I added pickled sushi ginger instead of fresh. Not sure if that made a difference. I will try it again with Japanese salad dressing as another reviewer stated because I do think this one has potential. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Excellent take on tuna salad. I just made this it was great. I took it one step further. I whipped up some salad dressing the type used at Sushi/Japanese restaurants (I used a recipe on this site called "Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing"). I chopped some lettuce: (I used mixed greens which was all I had and was fine but) iceberg would be most appropriate. I mixed the chopped celery and the dressing - like a chopped salad- and put it on top of the tuna between two pieces of bread as a true sushi-inspired tuna sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was great! I didn't have wasabi or fresh ginger, so I substituted horsradish and ginger paste. I wraped it up in a flatbread wrap, and lunch was ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
It's a different take on tuna salad. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Great idea for tuna salad! Once I got going on it, I made a few changes... for a double bacth, I used: 2 6oz cans tuna in water, drained 3/4 cup mayo 1 green onion, diced (2-3 tbsp) 1 tbsp wasabi or to taste. 1 tsp canned chopped ginger 2 hard boiled eggs, diced 1/4 cup diced cucumber 2 tsp soy sauce or to taste Cucumber works well as it is in many different sushi rolls. I used Japanese soy sauce as it isn't as salty. I just used 2 packets I had left from the sushi restaurant. For Tuna Melt sandwich, lightly toast 2 slices of bread, spread tuna salad on one side, cover with cheese, and place in toaster oven, or 6-8 inches under broiler for 3-5 minutes or until cheese is melted. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I really enjoyed this. The usual (tuna with mayo and diced cucumbers) can get kind of boring. This really spiced up lunch. I have now made this several times. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
seriously yummy, my husband adored it (he literally licked his plate). Shall most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States