Susan's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Everbody loves this cake - it's always the first to go. The butter sauce makes it rich and delicious. This will be a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
my family loved it this is the first home made cake i have ever made it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Thanks. This is an excellent cake and after reading a review that said it did not have much taste I question if they used pure vanilla. This will make a difference. Also, it is better if it is allowed to age for a couple of days. A cake any baker would be proud to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Perfect for apple upside down cake. I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8X8 pyrex dish. First, I peeled, cored and sliced apples into 8ths. and placed at the bottom of the buttered dish(in a pretty pattern). I then made a caramel sauce, and poured on top of apples. Lastly, I poured the cake batter on top of evreything and baked as usual. Came out fabulously perfect! Can make it using a butterscotch syrup too instead of the caramel. Did not make the sauce that comes with this recipe. I just served with a drizzle of store bought caramel sauce. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious and moist. It was simple to make and I had raving reviews from people who tasted this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
this cake made a big impression on my guests. i made it for a get together and eveyone raved. i made a mistake and added 1/2 cup too much brown sugar, but it turned out fine. i will definitely make this cake again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCOOKS24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Very simple and very delicious. I actually ran out of sour cream and used fat free vanilla yogurt instead. The cake still turned out great! I snuck a slice right out of the oven, and was NOT impressed. After the cake cooled, it tasted like a whole different cake! Light and moist. One of the better scratch cake recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
Very good-will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
*THUD!* This was FABULOUS! Be sure to beat it well, don't let it fall, etc. I substituted butter flavoring for most of the vanilla extract. Let it cool, but don't let it sit overnight before depanning. Try it with chocolate shavings over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
My family loved this cake. Nobody could wait for it to cool, it was 3/4 gone by then. We're gonna make again for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States