Susan's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Everbody loves this cake - it's always the first to go. The butter sauce makes it rich and delicious. This will be a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Very simple and very delicious. I actually ran out of sour cream and used fat free vanilla yogurt instead. The cake still turned out great! I snuck a slice right out of the oven, and was NOT impressed. After the cake cooled, it tasted like a whole different cake! Light and moist. One of the better scratch cake recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
Very good-will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I'm not much of a baker - followed exactly - it came out fine - maybe a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This buttery pound cake was fairly moist, and the glaze added interest. I baked it in a 325 degree convection oven for 50 minutes, which was plenty. More baking time would have made it too dry. I gave the recipe 4 stars instead of 5, as I felt that after 3 tablespoons of vanilla, 3 sticks of butter and a cup of sour cream that there should have been a more intense flavour....it just needed more "oommph". However, it was a great base for strawberries and vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
this cake made a big impression on my guests. i made it for a get together and eveyone raved. i made a mistake and added 1/2 cup too much brown sugar, but it turned out fine. i will definitely make this cake again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCOOKS24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
*THUD!* This was FABULOUS! Be sure to beat it well, don't let it fall, etc. I substituted butter flavoring for most of the vanilla extract. Let it cool, but don't let it sit overnight before depanning. Try it with chocolate shavings over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Simple and easy. I am thinking about trying this as the base for Petits Four, what do you think?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thenettiep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This recipe was a bit disapointing :( I had really high hopes because because of the ingredients and reviews so maybe that was the problem. It really sounded delicious, especially the butter sauce! I make pound cakes quite often (family favorite) and have had some great ones made from recipes on this site, but this one was not so great. After sitting for a day the cake was really dry except for the sauce soaked parts.The only way I would serve this to company is topped with a fruit sauce, like sauteed strawberries and sugar, but I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
my family loved it this is the first home made cake i have ever made it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States