Susan's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This cake is wonderful. This is my favorite cake to make and the butter sauce just adds that extra kick to it. I add an extra stick of butter to mines though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
THANK YOU THANK YOU!! I followed your recipe to the letter and my cake turned out perfect! Both of my grandma's have passed on and I never got their cake recipes and this cake reminds me of the ones they made for the holidays. This was my first attempt and I am soo pleased!!!!!! Your cake was easy to make and it is simply delicious I can't wait to share with the rest of the family tonght at Christmas Dinner. Thank you Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
The cake was moist, but it didn't have any flavor, my kids were very disappointed in this cake.. This is the second time I made it and it was still bland.. I even use 1tabl of vanilla to pull the flavor out but it didn't work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I was really disappointed with this recipe. I make pound cakes a lot, and this one had an odd, unpleasant taste. Even the batter didn't taste good--not a good sign. I followed the recipe exactly but didn't make the butter sauce. The cake was moist and looked good, and I baked it for an hour and 10 minutes in a bundt cake pan. All of the ingredients were fresh, and I used real vanilla. I cut a piece after it was out of the oven for a while, and it didn't taste good. I put it in the refrigerator until the next day and tried a piece then. It still wasn't worth eating, so I put it in the backyard for the squirrels. I can only think that the sour cream was the ingredient that shouldn't have been there, and maybe yogurt or just another cup of butter would have made it taste better/good. I definitely would not make this again and cannot recommend it at all. Expensive backyard feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
My family loved this cake. Nobody could wait for it to cool, it was 3/4 gone by then. We're gonna make again for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Great flavor. The texture isn't as dense as a normal butter cake, which I was a little disappointed about. Other than that, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Perfect for apple upside down cake. I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8X8 pyrex dish. First, I peeled, cored and sliced apples into 8ths. and placed at the bottom of the buttered dish(in a pretty pattern). I then made a caramel sauce, and poured on top of apples. Lastly, I poured the cake batter on top of evreything and baked as usual. Came out fabulously perfect! Can make it using a butterscotch syrup too instead of the caramel. Did not make the sauce that comes with this recipe. I just served with a drizzle of store bought caramel sauce. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Thanks. This is an excellent cake and after reading a review that said it did not have much taste I question if they used pure vanilla. This will make a difference. Also, it is better if it is allowed to age for a couple of days. A cake any baker would be proud to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious and moist. It was simple to make and I had raving reviews from people who tasted this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This cake was quite good. I have to admit that I didn't do the butter sauce, however I can see how this cake could seem dry to some, as it did to me somewhat. Next time I think I will try substituting oil for part of the butter; I've have good success in doing that with other cake recipes to make them moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States