Susan's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This cake is wonderful. This is my favorite cake to make and the butter sauce just adds that extra kick to it. I add an extra stick of butter to mines though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
THANK YOU THANK YOU!! I followed your recipe to the letter and my cake turned out perfect! Both of my grandma's have passed on and I never got their cake recipes and this cake reminds me of the ones they made for the holidays. This was my first attempt and I am soo pleased!!!!!! Your cake was easy to make and it is simply delicious I can't wait to share with the rest of the family tonght at Christmas Dinner. Thank you Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
The cake was moist, but it didn't have any flavor, my kids were very disappointed in this cake.. This is the second time I made it and it was still bland.. I even use 1tabl of vanilla to pull the flavor out but it didn't work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I was really disappointed with this recipe. I make pound cakes a lot, and this one had an odd, unpleasant taste. Even the batter didn't taste good--not a good sign. I followed the recipe exactly but didn't make the butter sauce. The cake was moist and looked good, and I baked it for an hour and 10 minutes in a bundt cake pan. All of the ingredients were fresh, and I used real vanilla. I cut a piece after it was out of the oven for a while, and it didn't taste good. I put it in the refrigerator until the next day and tried a piece then. It still wasn't worth eating, so I put it in the backyard for the squirrels. I can only think that the sour cream was the ingredient that shouldn't have been there, and maybe yogurt or just another cup of butter would have made it taste better/good. I definitely would not make this again and cannot recommend it at all. Expensive backyard feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
My family loved this cake. Nobody could wait for it to cool, it was 3/4 gone by then. We're gonna make again for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Great flavor. The texture isn't as dense as a normal butter cake, which I was a little disappointed about. Other than that, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Perfect for apple upside down cake. I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8X8 pyrex dish. First, I peeled, cored and sliced apples into 8ths. and placed at the bottom of the buttered dish(in a pretty pattern). I then made a caramel sauce, and poured on top of apples. Lastly, I poured the cake batter on top of evreything and baked as usual. Came out fabulously perfect! Can make it using a butterscotch syrup too instead of the caramel. Did not make the sauce that comes with this recipe. I just served with a drizzle of store bought caramel sauce. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Thanks. This is an excellent cake and after reading a review that said it did not have much taste I question if they used pure vanilla. This will make a difference. Also, it is better if it is allowed to age for a couple of days. A cake any baker would be proud to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious and moist. It was simple to make and I had raving reviews from people who tasted this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This cake was quite good. I have to admit that I didn't do the butter sauce, however I can see how this cake could seem dry to some, as it did to me somewhat. Next time I think I will try substituting oil for part of the butter; I've have good success in doing that with other cake recipes to make them moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States