Susan's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
THIS TURNED OUT PRETTY GOOD SEEING AS HOW I WAS NOT ALL THERE IN THE KITCHEN TODAY LOL IT WAS JUST ONE OF THOSE DAYS . HALF WAY THROUGH BAKING I REALIZED I FORGOT TO ADD THE VANILLA AND THE BAKING SODA I WAS PRETTY UPSET WITH MYSELF BUT FIGURED I WOULD HOPE FOR THE BEST! iT BAKED UP BEAUTIFULLY I HONESTLY DIDNT MISS THE VANILLA I SLICED UP THE CAKE AND MADE A STRAWBERRY SAUCE WITH SOME FROZEN STRAWBERRYS I HAD AND TOPPED IT OFF WITH A DOLL UP OF WHIPPED CREAM! I CANT WAIT TO RE MAKE THIS CAKE AS WRITTEN LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is a great cake recipe, it is so fluffy, it"s a great hit with my family this recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This cake is literally the best thing I have ever tasted in my life. It is so moist, and the butter sauce added from the bottom pushes it into the perfection category. Mmmmm... I used this recipe to compete at the local county fair and I received a purple, the highest ribbon. The judge also commented that it was one of the best things she had ever tasted as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Fresh out the oven it was great but not at all what I was hoping for. It wasn't moist and did not taste like pound cake. I was so disappointed. Don't get me wrong my kids love it! It just wasn't the buttery melt in your mouth slice of heaven I was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I made this cake and it was delicious. I am going to make it again but I will substitute the brown sugar for all white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I was surprised with this cake right away it was so moist and delicious. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Excellent cake. My kids and hubby raved about it. Because I'm still trying to lose baby weight, I subbed 1 cup egg beaters for 4 eggs , 3/4 cup Truvia baking sugar for 1 and 1/2 cups white sugar, 1/4 cup Splenda brown sugar blend for 1/2 cup regular brown sugar and I Can't Believe it's Not Butter sticks for regular butter. The cake was still very decadent tasting. I can't imagine how wonderful it would be with real butter! I will make it the real way for company and the light way for me! My bake time was 75 minutes and it was perfect. I didn't do the butter sauce because I forgot and just dusted with powdered sugar. It was sweet and delicious and really didn't need to butter sauce, but next time I make this I will try the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyz5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Divine! Just made this now and it turned out perfect and so rich! Couldn't wait for it to cool down and just ate it warm with a cup of tea. Used a springform tin, brown sugar instead of white, and milk & yogurt mix instead of sour cream. Bliss :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAmMinion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is an absolutely delicious cake. Moist! Flavorful. Absolutely loved it! Will be making this over and over again, actually making it this evening!! Made a few changes though. Doubled the recipe and used 1 cup sour cream and one cup heavy whipping cream and it came out very moist and soft. Also put in 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and cinnamon. Got a person who said it was a bit too sweet but that's it. This goes into my collection of recipes!! I got 2 12" cakes (which I layered and decorated as a birthday cake for a client) and a small about 6" heart shaped cake out of the doubled recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
this cake is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States