Sus' Cat Scratch Attack Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
taste OK, but color and texture were unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhod6554

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I have to say, this had a good flavor but the consistency of cat food. I even reduced the mayo by half and did not cover while baking and it still came out mushy. Next time I would add at least twice the rice, if not more. I used brown rice and sprinkled some cheddar on top. The first bite wasn't so bad but neither my husband nor I could eat a lot more than that due to the gross consistency. I also used Tapatio sauce and left out the jalapeño. I like moderately spicy food and that was just about right. Will try again with massive modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanakarlene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was good and easy. I followed the advice of the reviewers and used half the amount of mayo. I added a little plain yogurt. I would make this again. I like the addition of the jalapeno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for ingredients I already had on had. This fit the bill perfectly. My changes: I sauteed onion, garlic, and a mildly hot pepper. Together with a half can of pees, I added that to the mix. Also, I used Bird's Eye frozen brown rice steamed in the microwave (saves the step on cooking rice). I sprinkled on hot pepper flakes because we aren't shy about spicy hot foods. My husband is not too keen on casseroles, but he really enjoyed this! It is definitely a keeper. The recipe was not mushy at all. It might be because of the brown rice, which holds up a little better than white rice. It also is more nutritional. Since I am wheat intolerant, this is a fantastic substitute for the regular old tuna casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Good base recipe. I always have issues with having rice come out cooked when I add it raw to casseroles. I used about a cup and a half of cooked rice from a couple nights before. I sauteed one onion, garlic and about a cup of shredded carrots and added that for a little more flavor, threw in about a cup of shredded white cheddar and sprinkled a bit on top before baking it long enough to warm all the way through and melt the cheese. I served the hot sauce on the side as I have two kids and they can't stomach super hot food. My kids and I liked this, my husband is on the fence. I think the whole amount of mayo is a little too rich, next time I might do half sour cream or yogurt. Like I said, good base recipe and a nice change from your typical tuna casserole. I'd make this again. GREAT way to use up your leftover rice from dinner the night before or from your chinese food order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KKH3
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I used cream of chicken soup because I don't like mushrooms and sour cream because I don't like mayonnaise. Other than that, I made this just as written. It is completely different from any other tuna casserole I've ever had, so if you're looking for something new, this is a great recipe to try. It was easy to make and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is ok. It would be better with half of the hot sauce. I used Tapatio so that might effect the spice level. But, I love spicy and this was barely edible. I was practically sweating eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizUgalde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
pretty good. I found the whole jar of mayonaise seemed a bit much. So I only used 1/4 cup. 1 can of tuna. Triple the rice. Excellent spicy flavor. Even the baby ate some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Simply delish! I messed with the quantities of the ingrediants (double rice and tuna, not of the mayo or soup though) but it came out delish. I also used cream of broccoli instead, and instead of jalepeno or hot sauce, put some medium level salsa into it. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Duda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Easy. Good to make in quantity. Very tasty to pile chilled leftovers onto a bowl of mesclun, radishes and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States