Surprise Meringue Kisses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I love these and make them every Christmas. I use mint chocolate kisses in one batch and add a little green food coloring. Before popping it in the oven I add green and white sprinkles. Another batch gets well-drained (and patted-dry) maraschino cherries and a little red food coloring and red & white sprinkles. A third batch gets regular chocolate, no coloring, and chocolate sprinkles. The result is a very Christmassy platter of colorful treats. It gets decimated at any party I take it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I made this every Christmas when my children were little and now for my grandchildren. I use mini-chocolate chips folded into the meringue rather than the kisses. Also don't care for the peppermint, instead used almond. Sprinkled white edible glitter over the cookies and they are beautiful and festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I was looking for a recipe for meringue nest for easter and came across this one. Growing up in the 60s in our town, we had a Woman's Bakery on the main street. I remember buying meringue nest in different colours at easter time for 5 or 10 cents. I wanted my children to have the same experience as me to remember. This recipe worked great. Didn't bother with any flouring, just a little food colouring. Then piped birds nest on the cookie sheet and baked as directed. We finished them off, by putting some tiny easter eggs in them.. so easy and so good... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Sooooooo good, with or without chocolate. Loved the peppermint. Also sprinkled crushed candy canes on top before baking... Very pretty. Mine were still a little gooey inside so I may try cooling inside the open oven next time instead of removing the cookies promptly; but I really liked them this way too. Might just be the Seattle humidity... Always hard to make meringues here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I used a little pile of andes mints (because that's what I had on hand) & called them Snowman Poops. Melt in your mouth minty awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Add mini chocolate chip "eyes" and you have "Ghosts" for Halloween! Perfect for school parties....kids love'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimsgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
had this recipe and lost it was glad to finally find it again. It is soooo good thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This one is right out of an ancient Tupperware cookbook I have. Best liked without the peppermint flavoring but in place I have also used other flavorings: mint, strawberry, orange, almond. I like them all but everyone else I know prefer the cookies with just the vanilla. I've also used some of the fancier Kisses that are filled or even just nuts. A little more work to cover the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My mother used to make these every Christmas and I've been looking to find a recipe so I could make them for my kids. This is the one to use!! AWESOME. Just like I remember my Mom making. Love them. Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any cream of tartar. I used two drops of vinegar instead; did the trick wonderfully! Meringue was lovely and thick and shiney. These are now on my must have list for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Very easy to make and fun to eat! I plan on making these again, but with some variations: almond extract instead of peppermint, or mini chocolate chips mixed with the meringue (or sprinkled mini chips on top of the unbaked cookie). Another possible variation: a well-drained maraschino cherry (without stem) in the center instead of the chocolate kiss, and omitting the peppermint extract. While my young daughter likes to eat these cookies, I still plan on making them by myself (raw egg whites). I didn't give this recipe 5 Overall stars because it seems to need something, mainly presentation-wise. I think some finely shaved chocolate or jimmies sprinkled on the unbaked meringue would "dress up" the cookie a bit. Tips on making the cookie: avoid air-pockets between the meringue and the kiss, and use two baking sheets -- you can fit the whole recipe on both sheets and get the whole batch in the oven at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States