Surprise Meringue Kisses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This one is right out of an ancient Tupperware cookbook I have. Best liked without the peppermint flavoring but in place I have also used other flavorings: mint, strawberry, orange, almond. I like them all but everyone else I know prefer the cookies with just the vanilla. I've also used some of the fancier Kisses that are filled or even just nuts. A little more work to cover the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I used a little pile of andes mints (because that's what I had on hand) & called them Snowman Poops. Melt in your mouth minty awesomeness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Use an electric beater and beat on high for a LONG TIME to get stiff enough! I had to go through 2 batches of this before I got it right for them to be "stiff" enough. I had to beat the egg whites with my kitchenaid mixer for about 10 minutes on high for them to get to a soft peak. Then I had to beat the cup of sugar for at least another 10 minutes on high speed for the batter to get to consistency that was firm enough. It is right when it is the consistency of cool whip. I did not use the peppermint extract. I put Hershey's CHERRY kisses in the center of these and then used a knive to cover the kiss with enough batter. I sprinkled some with red sugars, and others I swirled a toothpick dipped in red food coloring to give it a candy cane effect. They are beautiful and taste awesome! The only reason I didn't give full stars is cause I had such trouble figuring this recipe out and wish I would have known it could take so long to get firm using a heavy duty electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I had to make this twice before it 'kind of' worked. I think maybe because my peppermint extract was oil based? I'm not sure, but the first batch wouldn't peak at all (I ended up baking it spread out on the cookie sheet) and the second one I added the peppermint after the peaks formed and it took a lot of extra beating to get it to somewhere between soft and firm peaks. I ended up just making little meringue stars with red sprinkles because I don't think it would have held its shape any bigger. Tastes really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Add mini chocolate chip "eyes" and you have "Ghosts" for Halloween! Perfect for school parties....kids love'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimsgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Sooooooo good, with or without chocolate. Loved the peppermint. Also sprinkled crushed candy canes on top before baking... Very pretty. Mine were still a little gooey inside so I may try cooling inside the open oven next time instead of removing the cookies promptly; but I really liked them this way too. Might just be the Seattle humidity... Always hard to make meringues here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My mother used to make these every Christmas and I've been looking to find a recipe so I could make them for my kids. This is the one to use!! AWESOME. Just like I remember my Mom making. Love them. Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any cream of tartar. I used two drops of vinegar instead; did the trick wonderfully! Meringue was lovely and thick and shiney. These are now on my must have list for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I was looking for a recipe for meringue nest for easter and came across this one. Growing up in the 60s in our town, we had a Woman's Bakery on the main street. I remember buying meringue nest in different colours at easter time for 5 or 10 cents. I wanted my children to have the same experience as me to remember. This recipe worked great. Didn't bother with any flouring, just a little food colouring. Then piped birds nest on the cookie sheet and baked as directed. We finished them off, by putting some tiny easter eggs in them.. so easy and so good... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I made this every Christmas when my children were little and now for my grandchildren. I use mini-chocolate chips folded into the meringue rather than the kisses. Also don't care for the peppermint, instead used almond. Sprinkled white edible glitter over the cookies and they are beautiful and festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I love these and make them every Christmas. I use mint chocolate kisses in one batch and add a little green food coloring. Before popping it in the oven I add green and white sprinkles. Another batch gets well-drained (and patted-dry) maraschino cherries and a little red food coloring and red & white sprinkles. A third batch gets regular chocolate, no coloring, and chocolate sprinkles. The result is a very Christmassy platter of colorful treats. It gets decimated at any party I take it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States