Surprise Inside Independence Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this cake yesterday and it turned out great! however, i did change a few things around. i used vanilla pudding in between the layers, and iced the outside of the cake with cool whip. i then decorated it like an american flag with strawberry slices and fresh blueberries. also make sure you use enough blue and red dye so they don't come out as green and pink! the french vanilla pudding that is added to the white cake mix also made it turn yellow instead of white. but it still had the "red white and blue" feel. everyone loved it and had seconds. definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
If you add a few drops of white food coloring (Americolor brand) while mixing the cake, the batter will stay white instead of turning yellow from the pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Loved this cake! The cake mixes now are only 16.25 ounces, so I bought an extra cake & added 2 ounces from it to be sure the cake turned out good for a birthday party. Also subbed in white chocolate instant pudding mix to keep the batter whiter. I used 25 drops of red food coloring for the red layer, and still had pink batter & 15 drops of blue gave a light blue. Will use even more next time. The frosting recipe does not say to sift the powdered sugar before measuring, but I did since most frosting recipes I've used say to do that. Perhaps because of that, I only needed 1/2 c. heavy cream to get the frosting to a spreadable consistency. Even so, I had enough frosting for the cake, with a little left over. My guests were impressed & the cake was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This came out beautifully although I had to add almost half a tiny bottle of blue food coloring to make the blue layer. The problem with the French Vanilla pudding is it makes the batter way too yellow. I think I will try just plain vanilla next time and see if that helps. I chose to use a whipped cream frosting and cover the cake with a berry flag- it got raves all the way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made this cake on election night, and it turned out perfect! Used 4 egg whites and plain vanilla pudding powder to keep the white layer white as some suggested. Perfectly moist, delicious, and beautiful, too! Thanks. I plan to adapt the colors for all sorts of celebrations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MadelineRad
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
It worked great, only thing to mention is that I had to bake each portion for closer to 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Great idea for the holiday. I suggest using just egg whites, then the cake will stay white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teamkunzler
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I bought a box of Betty Crocker white cake and didnt add any of the pudding mix since it was alredy added to the box. I had to use a lot of food coloring to the red and blue to get it to not be pink and blue. My cake came out a little thinner than i'd like, but all in all, this was a great fun cake and i'd definatley make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States