Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Very good cake like brownies. The only thing I would change is instead of adding water, I would add cold coffee and instead of 1 tsp of cayenne pepper I would decrease it to just 1/2 tsp. The coffee flavor adds just enough mocha that turns this into a terrific authentic mexican chocolate flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I made this recipe, actually as cupcakes. I was impressed by the mild hit of spice and the mellow sweetness my little cakes had. I had several people try them and they were definitely a hit! The icing turned out very nicely as well, I would recommend letting it set up before using it. They were also very moist, which is perfect for chocolate cake. I will definitely make again, especially if I'm entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I halved the recipe and made mini muffins/cupcakes, which I thik were a perfect balance of sweet from the frosting and spicy from the cake. The frosting was very very good and in the future, I would decrease the cayenne if I made it into anything beside mini cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I made this with Vindiloo spice (a popular Indian spice) in place of cayanne. I used quite a bit (maybe 1 1/2 tsp) its very spicy but nice. I plan on using chocolate ganache to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Yummy! I substituted ginger for the cayenne pepper, since I was out. Tasted great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I made this cake exactly as the recipe was written and was very happy with the results. It was a bit more dense than I expected, but still definitely a cake. Out of the 6 people who ate it, 5 noticed the cayenne and thought it was a good addition. My husband had no idea it was there, but loved it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very moist, very tasty chocolate cake that has a warmth but there is no way it has any hint of pepper taste. This is a really fantastic cake. The frosting though was runny and I had too add another cup or more of powdered sugar and another Tbl of cocoa and a couple more T of margarine to get it to spreading consistency. Thanks this was a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Was so good, no one could guess there was cayenne in it. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonshepi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Great cake! I actually made them into cupcakes and they turned out great. I did add a little more powdered sugar to the frosing though to thicken it up so it would stay on good. Oh...I also replaced the baking soda with powder and they were just fine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
What an amazing chocolatey flavor! Everybody loved this cake and nobody guessed the secret ingredient (one of the guests thought it had Pepsi in it!) I used the recipe without making any changes. It was easier than I thought from my first read-through and I'll definitely be making it again. I didn't make the frosting but I'll try it next time. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Hannibal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States