Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We didn't love the pepper taste. It was too spicy for my kids and just had a weird aftertaste. The cake was moist, and the frosting was great. I think I'd like it better without the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This recipe is perfect the way it is. I suggest to anyone to try it the way it is before making any changes suggested by others. Althought I must agree that the cayenne gives an excellent flavor without making the cakes spicy hot as one might expect from cayenne. I make this cake ALL the time for any birthday/special occasion, or just because it is SOOOO moist and good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimiK
Home Town: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Wainwright, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Nice cake. I would suggest just a tiny bit less of the cayenne pepper. It was to my liking but a bit spicy for the kids. Love the recipe and the only suggestion is to double the frosting. This recipe doesn't have enough to frost the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I was hoping for something much different from what I got. The consistency seems strange and it just didn't taste all that chocolaty to me. I ended up cut to the wire and had to make a box recipe - won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I'm not a big fan of cake, but this is my FAVORITE cake in the world. I once ate this entire cake by myself over the course of a few days. The only suggestion I have is to use a different icing as this one is too soupy. I buy the premade icing at the store and its fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This cake is ok. It certainly is edible, but it doesn't make you want more. The taste is just...off. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I don't know what to think about this cake. The texture seems undercooked yet my toothpicks came out clean in two different areas of the cake. It's beyond moist and I don't know if I like that. However, it didn't stop me from getting up in the middle of the night to sneak a bite;) I like the cayenne pepper addition a lot, the aftertaste had a little mysterious heat to it. It's almost as if you don't know where it came from. I like that and will take it with me to the next chocolate cake recipe. **UPDATE** 24 hours later~~ Much much better the next day and even better than that once chilled in the fridge. The consistency of the cake was more tolerable after some time had passed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Photo by cupcakesurgeon
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Made this for my sister-in-law's birthday-- WONDERFUL! Super moist. I didn't have cayenne so I used half as much red pepper. BUT I can't wait to make it as called for! My friend has made it since and also loved it. I also used the icing as called for-- great-- I then shaved white and dark chocolate on top for decoration. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
My 2 year old wanted to make cake last night. I "helped" her make this one, it is an instant family favourite. The consistency is awesome, and the little bite from cayenne (we used 1 tsp) is great. Going to make it for the block party this weekend. So easy a 2 year old can do it! (sorta)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKAMP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States