Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My children like it very much! Delicious...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is so good, i like to add two teaspoons of coffee to add a little more taste. I made it once and all myy friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My family loved it. would add a little more spice. found it very mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sama 24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this was certainly good and we will make it again. I am giving it four stars instead of five because it was not fantastic, but certainly good and simple to make. Unique flavor, we really enjoyed it. moist and tasty, coulda used a little more chocolate imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I substituted water for coffee as other reviewers did. I frosted it with a butter cream recipe to which i added a table spoon of cinnamon it tasted very good and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is cake nirvana! This is the best cake ever. I used coffee instead of water as suggested by other reviewers. The recipe as written calls for 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper so I am not sure why others tried 1 tsp. cayenne. The frosting was perfect as written so I am not sure why others thought it too thin unless they did not allow the cake to cool competely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
A very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna MacGregor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Well. I just put the batter in the oven and licked the spoon-it's got a zip! Wow! Cannot wait to taste it. My husband is pretty good with pinpointing different spices when I try new things-we shall see... hehehe. I was impressed by how quickly everything went together and mixed smoothly by hand. (I'll let you know what he says).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very yummy! Hint of cayenne pepper was amazingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer P.
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I'm not a very proficient baker so I was a bit nervous about trying this cake... but it turned out just beautifully! A moist cake with wonderful rich flavor. The only change I made was to use coffee instead of water (as suggested by another reviewer). I made the icing exactly as stated and it also turned out nicely. I think the next time I will use a different type of icing just for variety's sake. This is a must try for all chocolate cake lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States