Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was my second time making this recipe. I cut the amount of cayenne in half because the first time it seemed too spicy for the kids. It would probably be good without the cayenne too. It makes super moist cupcakes that I love! The frosting is a bit runny...you have to chill it for a while or it will run right off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
HATED IT!!!! All we could taste was the cayenne pepper. YUCK!!! Might have been a decent cake without the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday...we had a party with about 12 adults, 5 kids there and I asked them all to guess the "secret" ingredient. Nobody could guess and they were surprised to hear it was cayenne pepper! I thought this was quite moist and delicious. I made it the day before and did NOT frost it. I simply sprinkled powdered sugar on top and everyone loved it. Easy to make, easier to eat! With a dollop of fresh whipped cream, this was soooo yummy. I also used coffee instead of water and I added a bit more cocoa. I cut the cayenne based on recommendations here and I think I probably would've been ok adding the whole amount. It had just the slightest bit of spice and I think a tad more would've been even better....so next time I will add the full amount called for in the recipe! I WILL make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Delicious! I did the coffee for water substitution. Made the cake and icing two days in advance and kept them fresh in the refrigerator. When it came time to serve I added a bit of milk to the icing to soften - spread on the cake. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Love this recipe! I've made it twice already! I like that it's ice and moist. It's like a brownie really! The only thing I would change is not to add the complete 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. It gives it just a hint of extra flavor w/o overduing it. All in all a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Definitely a keeper!! This cake had a great consistency - very moist. I had heard of cayenne pepper in chocolate cake before but had never tried it out, but it's what added the extra onto ordinary ;) The frosting was a little sweet for me, but was good nonetheless. Oh, and I didn't have any sour cream so I used cream cheese instead - it seemed to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loolaa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
We REALLY like this cake! It's moist and actually has better flavor and texture after the first day! I used somewhat heaping tablespoons of cocoa in the cake, since several reviews noted it is not strong of chocolate, and I finished it by sprinkling cinnamon and powdered sugar on top, foregoing the icing. The whole point of making THIS cake, for me, is experiencing the cayenne and chocolate blend. 1/2 teaspoon seems a perfect amount. I would love to try this with coffee, rather than water, but my son (adult) doesn't like mocha. He DID especially LIKE the texture. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by Naomi Gtz
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This turned out to be a moist, spongy cake. I did not add the pepper. Next time I make it, I will use 1 cup coffee instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Amazing! Most chocolate cakes do not turn out very moist, but this one sure did! Loved it@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginufred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comanche, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States