Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is so good, i like to add two teaspoons of coffee to add a little more taste. I made it once and all myy friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My family loved it. would add a little more spice. found it very mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sama 24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this was certainly good and we will make it again. I am giving it four stars instead of five because it was not fantastic, but certainly good and simple to make. Unique flavor, we really enjoyed it. moist and tasty, coulda used a little more chocolate imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I substituted water for coffee as other reviewers did. I frosted it with a butter cream recipe to which i added a table spoon of cinnamon it tasted very good and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is cake nirvana! This is the best cake ever. I used coffee instead of water as suggested by other reviewers. The recipe as written calls for 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper so I am not sure why others tried 1 tsp. cayenne. The frosting was perfect as written so I am not sure why others thought it too thin unless they did not allow the cake to cool competely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
A very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna MacGregor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Well. I just put the batter in the oven and licked the spoon-it's got a zip! Wow! Cannot wait to taste it. My husband is pretty good with pinpointing different spices when I try new things-we shall see... hehehe. I was impressed by how quickly everything went together and mixed smoothly by hand. (I'll let you know what he says).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very yummy! Hint of cayenne pepper was amazingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer P.
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I'm not a very proficient baker so I was a bit nervous about trying this cake... but it turned out just beautifully! A moist cake with wonderful rich flavor. The only change I made was to use coffee instead of water (as suggested by another reviewer). I made the icing exactly as stated and it also turned out nicely. I think the next time I will use a different type of icing just for variety's sake. This is a must try for all chocolate cake lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was my second time making this recipe. I cut the amount of cayenne in half because the first time it seemed too spicy for the kids. It would probably be good without the cayenne too. It makes super moist cupcakes that I love! The frosting is a bit runny...you have to chill it for a while or it will run right off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States