Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was a very nice, moist cake. The icing was way too sweet though, should have cut back on the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
very yummy cake! the batter turned out a little too spicy so i added more sour cream which seemed to help although the end product did still leave a bit of a burning feeling in your throat. overall, not bad. will make it again with a little less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Delicious! I've tried two variations, both gluten-free, and it is INCREDIBLE. I used certified GF whole grain oat flour and almond flour. I also used yogurt instead of sour cream as I have it at hand more often. The only other substitution I made was to include an espresso cup of coffee as part of the water measurement. Since I was making it GF and was worried about the thing not rising, I used cupcake/muffin tins--this recipe made 18!! At the end I topped some of them off with crushed walnuts and some with chocolate chips. DELICIOUS! The blend of coffee/cayenne/chocolate was *perfect.* It feels warm and warming, and not hot. It's like an exotic comfort blend of dreamy heaven. :) BTW, I followed other review's time suggestion for cupcakes and they were AMAZING. Keep an eye on it if you're making GF, as you don't want it to dry. They didn't rise too much (but they did a bit), and have the consistency of amazing brownies. They're moist and delicious, but not gooey or sludgy as I feared as it was my first GF baking experience. The second time I added more cocoa powder, all coffee and a touch more cayenne. The truth is, to my shock...I think I liked the original version better! Truth is, they're both delicious, so just have fun with it. I'm about to make my third batch now--I save them in freezer bags labeled by month so that I don't get carried away enjoying them excessively :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
What a great scratch cake! I did one thing different and that was using cake flour instead of all-purpose. I had to add more confectionary sugar to the icing as it was too thin. But my husband absolutely loved it and he won't eat anything store bought in sweets. Thank you again for providing an avenue for wonderful recipes to be shared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JKH
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
The heat was very subtle and it was described as little tiny pins on the tip of the tongue. The texture was a real winner. Very light. I used the ingredients in the amounts as written but the directions seemed to not make sense. I mixed the cayenne and baking soda in with the dry ingredients then added them to the wet ingredients because in my experience those ingredients will not mix properly if mixed first with the wet ingredients. I made mini cupcakes and it made over 4 dozen. I did not make the frosting so this review is only on the cake itself. I used a family boiled frosting recipe and piped it onto the cupcake and shaved a chocolate chili candy bar onto them as decoration. I made this recipe twice. First without changing any of the ingredients or amounts, only the procedure and the second time I added more cocoa and swapped the water for decaf coffee per other reviewers suggestions. It was good in both ways. I will definitely be making this again with and without the spice because the recipe itself is quite excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe. Found it great! I did exchange the water for coffee. I used a different frosting because I read too many complaints. The cake was for a birthday. Many people asked me what was in it. Told them it was a Surprise Chocolate Cake and they had to guess. One person guessed it and the others said I don't know but I like it. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Love this cake!! Moist and chocolatey, with a delicate "kick" to it. I give it away as gifts and get requests for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
really moist! didn't add the peeper coz alot of ppl said it didn't make much of a diffrence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
very tasty i doubled the cocoa.. i like it extra chocolaty... thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonicaShanti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My children like it very much! Delicious...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States