Surprise Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Thanks SunKissed 31, these are great burgers. I did change a few things, just because my husband and five year old daughter might not have liked the pineapple rings. I added an 8 oz. can of crushed pineapple that I drained the juice from, I added a 1/4 C. of shredded cheese, and I reduced the ketchup & brown sugar to 1/8 C and the mustard to 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. I mixed it all together and heated in a saucepan and then I added it to the ground beef, pineapple, and cheese. Then I used my hamburger press to pat out the burgers, and they were GREAT, moist and not the least bit messy with a five year old. Thanks again, I will make these burgers again, and again, and again. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Everyone has a favorite hamburger recipe. My experience has been that the recipes don't often provide enough of a twist to make investing in the new ingredients and process worthwhile. Not true with "Surprise Burgers." This is a truly interesting, awesome embellishment to the classic burger. Though simple, the sauce is exceptional and compliments the sweet pineapple in a most appropriate and compelling way. The only addition I made was my ubiquitous onion. I used two pounds of ground chuck and used a small, drained can of pineapple, which other reviewers have recommended. Thanks for those recommendations! The crushed pineapple provided a taste of pineapple in nearly every bite! Though I was working with a low-fat version of ground beef, the pineapple kept it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Simply delicious. I used fresh pineapple cut into chunks. My only recommendation is to cut up the pineapple into very small pieces or to used crushed pineapple, since the big hunks undermine the moistness and texture of the hamburger. I love the sauce- I might just use it on my hamburgers and skip the pineapple if I'm in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was really great! My boyfriend and I ended up mixing the brown sugar sauce (same quantity as prepared in the recipe), and some leftover crushed pineapple (about 2cups) into two pounds of hamburger because he accidently thawed out both pounds :D. They tasted wonderful, sweet and tangy with pineapple in every bite. The moisture was just right and even with the sauce mixed into the meat the burgers stayed together very well. Served with some grilled pineapple, red bell pepper, rice and teriyaki sauce on the side this made for a recipe we're sure to make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan O.
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
WONDERFUL!!! My husband and I grilled these burgers the other night. The pineapple helps to keep the lean meat very moist. The sauce is like icing on a cake. This is one of the best recipes I have tried from this site, and I have tried many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Awesome burgers. I used crushed pineapples also. Added some diced jalapeno too. For the sauce I added a few tbs of the pineapple juice and left out the mustard. Very good. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
SunKissed, you have made my day! I used 1-1/2 pounds of ground beef because, well, I like beef and that's the quantity I have mine packaged! Besides, it may be a little tougher to get four double-layer burgers out of just a pound! Anyway, I served them with a side of potato salad and the folks here in the canyon just loved them - and I did, too! This one goes into my file for dinners when company is here, but it will no doubt be used much more often than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Ummm... Way too sweet! And the sauce makes far, far too much. I used about half of it on the grilling burgers, and offered the rest to the family at the table. I used 2 lbs. of hamburger instead of 1 lb., and made 6 burgers. (Didn't double the sauce recipe, but it was still too much, too sweet.) In fact, I halved the brown sugar. Well, what can I say. It's just waaay too sweet! My husband's comment was, "needs some seasonings or something to cut the sweet taste." There you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
The flavor of this is unbelievable - the burgers were incredibly moist due to the pineapple, and the simple sauce is out of this world. I put a little of the sauce on the burgers as they were cooking and they were excellent. The only thing I might change next time is to use crushed pineapple in the center instead of a pineapple ring. The pineapple rings weren't very easy to bite into and I made quite a mess eating them. This is my new burger receipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe was yummy. I loved the pineapple inside the burger, and the sauce was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States