Surprise Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Everyone has a favorite hamburger recipe. My experience has been that the recipes don't often provide enough of a twist to make investing in the new ingredients and process worthwhile. Not true with "Surprise Burgers." This is a truly interesting, awesome embellishment to the classic burger. Though simple, the sauce is exceptional and compliments the sweet pineapple in a most appropriate and compelling way. The only addition I made was my ubiquitous onion. I used two pounds of ground chuck and used a small, drained can of pineapple, which other reviewers have recommended. Thanks for those recommendations! The crushed pineapple provided a taste of pineapple in nearly every bite! Though I was working with a low-fat version of ground beef, the pineapple kept it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This was delicious! Every one in my family loved it! Definitely a keeper. However, I changed the recipe a little bit. I substituted the yellow mustard for grey poupon. Realllly goood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JODI
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Very good! My fiance and his son both really liked these. If you don't like food too sweet, you may want to cut down on the brown sugar in the sauce just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
These burgers are out of this world awesome!!! What really makes them great is the sweet sauce. For just the two of us I made two 1/2 lb. burgers. I can't imagine getting a whole pineapple ring in 1/4 lb. of beef. Next time I may try adding crushed pineapple and will add not quite 1/2 cup of brown sugar. My husband bit into his burger and was very shocked by the pineapple inside. I yelled "Surprise" then told him they were called surprise burgers. LOL I highly recommend this recipe. It is a very delicious alternative to a boring hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy. My kids, and husband loved this recipe. We are all pineapple lovers so I was anxious to try this. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Wickizer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Thanks SunKissed 31, these are great burgers. I did change a few things, just because my husband and five year old daughter might not have liked the pineapple rings. I added an 8 oz. can of crushed pineapple that I drained the juice from, I added a 1/4 C. of shredded cheese, and I reduced the ketchup & brown sugar to 1/8 C and the mustard to 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. I mixed it all together and heated in a saucepan and then I added it to the ground beef, pineapple, and cheese. Then I used my hamburger press to pat out the burgers, and they were GREAT, moist and not the least bit messy with a five year old. Thanks again, I will make these burgers again, and again, and again. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Was looking for a new burger; my boyfriend approved of the whole-heartedly, saying they're "about as good as burgers get" He really loved the sauce, thought it tied the whole thing together. Definately a keeper recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Very nice. I made veggie version with vegetables, soaked soya granules and some rice and chopped the pineapples fine. Thanks.Oh ya! THe sauce was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Ummm... Way too sweet! And the sauce makes far, far too much. I used about half of it on the grilling burgers, and offered the rest to the family at the table. I used 2 lbs. of hamburger instead of 1 lb., and made 6 burgers. (Didn't double the sauce recipe, but it was still too much, too sweet.) In fact, I halved the brown sugar. Well, what can I say. It's just waaay too sweet! My husband's comment was, "needs some seasonings or something to cut the sweet taste." There you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
These were a bit messy but ... YUM! Everyone loved them. I cooked them in the broiler and served on some nice bakery buns with a thin slice of red onion. So quick and easy. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYDUFF
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States