Surprise Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was really great! My boyfriend and I ended up mixing the brown sugar sauce (same quantity as prepared in the recipe), and some leftover crushed pineapple (about 2cups) into two pounds of hamburger because he accidently thawed out both pounds :D. They tasted wonderful, sweet and tangy with pineapple in every bite. The moisture was just right and even with the sauce mixed into the meat the burgers stayed together very well. Served with some grilled pineapple, red bell pepper, rice and teriyaki sauce on the side this made for a recipe we're sure to make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan O.
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
They were so good I will try again. It was simple and was not dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This recipe has been in our family ever since I can remember growing up. I always looked forward to summer bbq as a kid, now as an adult I make it more offten. Although it's not for everyone if you don't like sweet then don't even bother! The only diffrance in the recipe from ours is that the sauce uses the left over pinapple juice from the can an a little less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Camp De Hoyos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
SunKissed, you have made my day! I used 1-1/2 pounds of ground beef because, well, I like beef and that's the quantity I have mine packaged! Besides, it may be a little tougher to get four double-layer burgers out of just a pound! Anyway, I served them with a side of potato salad and the folks here in the canyon just loved them - and I did, too! This one goes into my file for dinners when company is here, but it will no doubt be used much more often than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
For me, the biggest surprise here is all the 5 stars this recipe has received. I thought these were way too sweet and very soggy. Almost inedible. We ended up eating cereal for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe was yummy. I loved the pineapple inside the burger, and the sauce was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This recipe didn't turn out good at all!The burgers were falling apart when I was trying to grill them and were actually mushy when they were done. I never thought a hamburger could be mushy! What I salvaged, we sat down to eat and my fiance' couldn't even eat it...yes, they were that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Wonderful recipe! We loved the burgers and with 85% lean meat, the pinapple made them moist, but not messy. I cut down on the amount of sauce, but it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
First, let me say that I only give a 5 star to foods that are "Thank God for this food". The adults gave it a 4 star but the teens gave it a 2 1/2 to 3 star. We too reduced the brown sugar and ketchup 50% and it was a pleasant mix of sweetness and tanginess. A pleasant change of burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Everyone has a favorite hamburger recipe. My experience has been that the recipes don't often provide enough of a twist to make investing in the new ingredients and process worthwhile. Not true with "Surprise Burgers." This is a truly interesting, awesome embellishment to the classic burger. Though simple, the sauce is exceptional and compliments the sweet pineapple in a most appropriate and compelling way. The only addition I made was my ubiquitous onion. I used two pounds of ground chuck and used a small, drained can of pineapple, which other reviewers have recommended. Thanks for those recommendations! The crushed pineapple provided a taste of pineapple in nearly every bite! Though I was working with a low-fat version of ground beef, the pineapple kept it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States