Surprise Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Perfect! I used 6 bananas instead of 4 and it turned out very moist. I baked it for 30 minutes at 375 degrees, it was not done in the middle so I baked it 10 additional minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I loved this cake! I added the one teaspoon of baking powder as suggested by one other viewer and it gave it a bit of a lift. I'm not a fan of walnuts, so I added some bitter sweet chocolate chips to it. I made a little icing with chocolate to add to the top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I added 1 tsp baking powder, as other reviewers suggested. I also used chocolate chips instead of the nuts and added caramel icing. This was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
After reading the reviews, I made this with the following changes: I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder, and added 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream for an acid. The cake turned out incredibly good. It is a dense cake, but as it's a banana cake you expect that. I frosted it with maple cream cheese frosting. This is one cake that doesn't last in the house long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made this as written except I used applesauce instead of butter. It turned out great. It rose well, despite what other reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I liked it, but didn't love it, next time I will add some allspice or something similar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is really good, especially with the banana nut frosting recipe from this site. I added another tsp. of baking soda, as another person suggested, but I haven't had it otherwise so it might be just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is more like a bread than a cake, but tastes delicious. I make it per the recipe, though I leave out the salt. When I have a lot of bananas sometimes I use 5 instead of 4. Also, sometimes I add peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was delicious. I doubled the baking soda, omitted the walnuts, didn't use icing and people loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Great recipe. Mine finished 5 minutes earlier than stated time. Very nice, and I topped mine with duncan hines' cream cheese frosting. Not phenomenal as in trying to impress someone. I did add some diverse autumnal spices (cinnamon and nutmeg to be precise) however it would be fine without them too. Mine cooked really dark on the top shelf in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States