Surprise Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I have to completely disagree with Krizia's review of this recipe. Krizia says the baking soda is useless in this recipe because it needs an acid to react with. Well, bananas are acidic!!! Butter is acidic also. That said I think Krizia was expecting a light cake, and probably thought the cake needed baking powder to help with the rise. This recipe is not a true cake, it is more like a banana bread(most banana breads only use baking soda as a chemical leavener)It is still a delicious cake/loaf, and as long as you don't over mix the batter you should end up with a moist banana-bread-type snacking cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Susanne Miller Fiori
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Awesome! I wanted to use up my overripe bananas but I didn't want heavy bread! This is right on the money! I allowed the butter and sugar to cream together on low speed for several minutes. I then added the eggs & vanilla which I whisked together, then the bananas and finally the dry ingredients and returned the mixer to low until incorporated. I switched the mixer to medium and blended the batter thouroughly. I omitted the nuts. I divided the batter into two prepared glass 8 x 8 inch baking dishes and baked in 375° F oven for 35 minutes and cooled completely on racks before turning them onto plates. I am going to keep one and give one away! I will definitely make this one again! Love it! I would give it Ten Stars if I could!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I absolutely loved this recipe! I have made this twice already: once in a regular pan, and today I made cupcakes. I wish I had walmuts to stay true to it, but used pecans the first time, and today, I used almonds. The other incidental change was because I didn't have baking soda. So I used 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and it was absolutely perfect. The first time, since it was a little thin (it was half the recipe- only 2 bananas), I cut it in 2 loafs, placed one, topped with frosting, placed other half on top and frosted again. I used the cream cheese frosting II on this site. Delicioso! Thank you for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It was dense and rich. I added 6 ripe small bananas. I frosted it with a light and fluffy vanilla frosting; just a thin layer. My husband and I loved it and I don't understand the negative reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was very easy. It's hot here so the butter softened quickly - this is the part I hate most about baking is softening butter and creaming it with sugar. But it was easy. Now I did use bananas, but only 2 (they were really black). And I used all purpose wheat flour for both cups of flour. It was dense and light at the same time. I've been learning not to over mix - so I got a good rise from this dough. And my surprise was coffee. I thought they came out okay other than a bit too dense. Oh yeah I made them muffins and not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! Don't even need the frosting. Used 4 bananas and 1 tsp of baking soda, made the cake like and fluffy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Perfect! I used 6 bananas instead of 4 and it turned out very moist. I baked it for 30 minutes at 375 degrees, it was not done in the middle so I baked it 10 additional minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I loved this cake! I added the one teaspoon of baking powder as suggested by one other viewer and it gave it a bit of a lift. I'm not a fan of walnuts, so I added some bitter sweet chocolate chips to it. I made a little icing with chocolate to add to the top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I added 1 tsp baking powder, as other reviewers suggested. I also used chocolate chips instead of the nuts and added caramel icing. This was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
After reading the reviews, I made this with the following changes: I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder, and added 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream for an acid. The cake turned out incredibly good. It is a dense cake, but as it's a banana cake you expect that. I frosted it with maple cream cheese frosting. This is one cake that doesn't last in the house long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States