Surprise Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It was dense and rich. I added 6 ripe small bananas. I frosted it with a light and fluffy vanilla frosting; just a thin layer. My husband and I loved it and I don't understand the negative reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was very easy. It's hot here so the butter softened quickly - this is the part I hate most about baking is softening butter and creaming it with sugar. But it was easy. Now I did use bananas, but only 2 (they were really black). And I used all purpose wheat flour for both cups of flour. It was dense and light at the same time. I've been learning not to over mix - so I got a good rise from this dough. And my surprise was coffee. I thought they came out okay other than a bit too dense. Oh yeah I made them muffins and not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! Don't even need the frosting. Used 4 bananas and 1 tsp of baking soda, made the cake like and fluffy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Perfect! I used 6 bananas instead of 4 and it turned out very moist. I baked it for 30 minutes at 375 degrees, it was not done in the middle so I baked it 10 additional minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I loved this cake! I added the one teaspoon of baking powder as suggested by one other viewer and it gave it a bit of a lift. I'm not a fan of walnuts, so I added some bitter sweet chocolate chips to it. I made a little icing with chocolate to add to the top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I added 1 tsp baking powder, as other reviewers suggested. I also used chocolate chips instead of the nuts and added caramel icing. This was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
After reading the reviews, I made this with the following changes: I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder, and added 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream for an acid. The cake turned out incredibly good. It is a dense cake, but as it's a banana cake you expect that. I frosted it with maple cream cheese frosting. This is one cake that doesn't last in the house long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made this as written except I used applesauce instead of butter. It turned out great. It rose well, despite what other reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I liked it, but didn't love it, next time I will add some allspice or something similar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is really good, especially with the banana nut frosting recipe from this site. I added another tsp. of baking soda, as another person suggested, but I haven't had it otherwise so it might be just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States