Surprise Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It was dense and rich. I added 6 ripe small bananas. I frosted it with a light and fluffy vanilla frosting; just a thin layer. My husband and I loved it and I don't understand the negative reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was very easy. It's hot here so the butter softened quickly - this is the part I hate most about baking is softening butter and creaming it with sugar. But it was easy. Now I did use bananas, but only 2 (they were really black). And I used all purpose wheat flour for both cups of flour. It was dense and light at the same time. I've been learning not to over mix - so I got a good rise from this dough. And my surprise was coffee. I thought they came out okay other than a bit too dense. Oh yeah I made them muffins and not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! Don't even need the frosting. Used 4 bananas and 1 tsp of baking soda, made the cake like and fluffy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Perfect! I used 6 bananas instead of 4 and it turned out very moist. I baked it for 30 minutes at 375 degrees, it was not done in the middle so I baked it 10 additional minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I loved this cake! I added the one teaspoon of baking powder as suggested by one other viewer and it gave it a bit of a lift. I'm not a fan of walnuts, so I added some bitter sweet chocolate chips to it. I made a little icing with chocolate to add to the top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I added 1 tsp baking powder, as other reviewers suggested. I also used chocolate chips instead of the nuts and added caramel icing. This was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
After reading the reviews, I made this with the following changes: I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder, and added 2 heaping tablespoons of sour cream for an acid. The cake turned out incredibly good. It is a dense cake, but as it's a banana cake you expect that. I frosted it with maple cream cheese frosting. This is one cake that doesn't last in the house long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made this as written except I used applesauce instead of butter. It turned out great. It rose well, despite what other reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I liked it, but didn't love it, next time I will add some allspice or something similar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is really good, especially with the banana nut frosting recipe from this site. I added another tsp. of baking soda, as another person suggested, but I haven't had it otherwise so it might be just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States