Supreme Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Doubled the mushrooms and used a 15oz can of evap. milk in place of the half-and-half (which is a nifty trick if you want to reduce fat). Also used leftover flour, made with seasoned salt instead of plain, from dredging the chicken in the sauce. Browned the chicken in a cast-iron skillet, then covered and cooked with about 2T of cooking sherry and 2T water for about 10 minutes. Removed chicken, then cooked the mushrooms with a few diced green onions and one large clove of garlic until they were all softened, then added the flour, followed by the milk, cooking until thickened. Put the chicken back in the pan, then placed all in the oven for 30 minutes. Just sprinkled with a little cheese. We ate with noodles; good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Fairly simple to make, though it takes a fair amount of time. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts, and I made about half the amount of sauce because I only had 2 thighs (I also used whole milk instead of half and half). There was plenty of sauce left over to put on the rice I had on the side, but I was a little disappointed that it wasn't very flavorful. If I make it again I'll probably add some garlic powder and other saltier spices. The chicken was nice and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Rated a 4 due to alterations made after reading reviews of bland taste and dry chicken. I decided the dryness was likely due to over-cooking since after browning, boneless chicken breast should only need 30 minutes in the oven to be done. I did the following: Added salt, pepper and garlic powder to the flour mix. Reserved the flour mix for the sauce. Skipped the simmering in the skillet for 30 minutes part ... just browned the chicken well in the butter then put in a baking dish and covered with the mushrooms. Doubled the sauce ingredients (to use with side dish)... still added the water with some half & half and the reserved flour mix.. whisked till mixed well.. added the rest of half & half.. cooked till bubbly and thicker.. added lemon and poured over chicken and mushrooms.. baked 30 min. Like others, I forgot the cheese, but it didn't need it. Family loved it.. chicken was tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Have made it oh so many times... and it's always been a hit.. with Family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and served it over mashed potatoes. It was very tasty. Next time I will probably add a little more paprika and some garlic for our family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I'd have to agree with another reviewer that it was a bit on the bland side. Not sure how to spruce it up without ruining it. Did add garlic and a splash of white wine.. Just wish it would have tasted more like it smelled..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c4christ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made this for me and my boyfriend tonight. He loved it, but I thought it tasted a little bland. The consistency of the sauce and the mushrooms were great, I just thought it could have used a little more flavor from somewhere. My mom suggested maybe some white wine in the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I can't stop raving about this recipe. The lemon juice gives it that extra kick. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Prince George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Great recipe. I agree that it is rich. I seasoned the chicken with salt, garlic powder and black pepper. Used a little more flour and per other's recommendations I doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
amazingly delicious for the ingredients.. i made it once, just to see, and my family has demanded it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States