Supreme Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Very easy! I didn't have apple brandy so I substituted apple barrel schnapps and black spiced rum! I pretty much left it alone once it started and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Used a slow cooker-- on low for about 6 hours-- and it turned out great. Couldn't find apple brandy in our area so substituted regular brandy. Was a waste of booze, the regular brandy didn't change/add to the flavor (would have been ahead to drink it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This tasty treat is great for everyone!I made it for my mom on mothers day and she loved it!It's so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Did the job ok. Very time consuming. I only needed for 1 dish - should have made it the previous day. Verrrry tasty with pork! Gave it 4* only because of theprep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I give the taste a 5 and the texture a 2.5 - 3. The texture was more like a very thick applesauce than a true apple butter. The taste was wonderful after I tweaked the spices - just a dash of ginger, 1/2 t allspice and 1 1/2 t cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This apple butter is amazing! I multiplied the recipe by 7, making 21 jars to give as Christmas gifts-I was peeling, chopping and cooking ALL day! The aroma in my house was incredible-my husband said he was hit by a 'wave of apple heaven' when he walked in from work. The only complaint we have is the cost of the apple brandy. To make 21 jars we spent $40 on brandy- it's great apple butter, but maybe I'll use 1/2 and 1/2 cider and brandy next time to cut our cost. I also changed the spice amounts- I reduced the ginger to 3/4 tsp., upped the amount of cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp., kept the cloves the same, and added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and two pinches of cardamom per recipe. Lastly, I chopped my apples coarsely, and think next time I'll chop them finer-or when the recipe says 'cooked until easily mashed' I'll mash them-the recipe wasn't specific about that. Thankfully, I had my boat motor (hand blender), and I just pureed it when it was all done cooking. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Very tasty recipe, but one can NOT stress the importance of watching it carefully throughout the cooking process. I followed the recipe religiously and badly scorched my first batch. Also, I would suggest straining the apple mixture through either a fine/medium China Cap sieve, foley food mill or even a potato ricer to give it that perfect consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geekette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
i must say, this apple butter is So good. if you are looking for a recipe, this is it. i did what the other person said - used apple juice instead of apple brandy and it was WONDERFUL! thank you whoever made this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I was raised in the south where apple butter is big. This is by far the best I have ever eaten. It is delicious apple butter with a little kick from the brandy and the spices. Everyone in my family loved it, and I plan on making more to give as Christmas gifts. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe unless it would be to double or triple it, because it won't last long. It's great on biscuits, toast or anything for that matter. Thank you so much for the recipe. It's a keeper, and I plan on making it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
This recipe is wonderful. I subsituted apple brandy for apple cider because I couldnt find the brandy and it tastes heavenly. It is very popular in my house. Definitely something to put on the table for Thanksgiving dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States