Supreme Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Wonderful recipe! Like others, I had problems finding apple brandy but I wanted to have some sort of liquor in there so I opted for an apple liquor (not schnapps!). Very very tasty - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
YUM! This is excellent apple butter. I used the crock pot and let it go overnight and beyond. I skipped the ginger and added an extra tsp. of cinnamon. I also substituted apple cider for the brandy. When it was dark brown and the consistency that I was looking for I then used an immersion blender and made it smooth, canned it, and used a boiling water bath for 25 minutes. My kids loved it. The ultimate compliment was when my son said, "it tastes just like Silver Dollar City apple butter". That is our favorite! Thanks for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Absolutly delicious. The only thing i changed was adding about 2 tablespoons more of brown sugar. I did cheat to mash the apples using a Braun sitck mixer. I ended up having to make another batch the next day becuase it disappeared so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
everyone loved this (and I served it many times!), especially with pork chops and pancakes. I had to make two batches 'cause so many people wanted some to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very good taste. I put it in a slow cooker on low for a total of 16 hours (all day for 8 and overnight for 8) and it looked burnt at the end but was done perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Super tasty on pancakes and toast. Worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I made this exactly like the recipe, but mixed it with a hand mixer to make it smoother. It turned out fantastic and it cans very well using the water bath method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k8e204

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I did the whole operation in crock pot over 2 day time period. Day 1 cooked apples down for several hours then shut off crock pot overnight. Next day put everything through blender, added sugar and spices and cooked with lid off, stirring often to help it thicken up. Yield was 4 1/2 cups of the best apple butter I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I followed the recipe with the exception of cutting the brandy in half (as some of the reviews suggested)and doubled it. My family and friends have raved about the apple butter. My youngest went after it with a spoon. Thanks for the recipe this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Excellent, I doubled the amount of Cinnamon, and Cloves. Added 2 tesp each of Allspice and Nutmeg. Wonderful. You can easily adjust the spices to your taste. I used a crock pot to prevent sticking and scorching, it worked wonderful and the house smelled terrific! Will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States