Supreme Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I could not find apple brandy. What I did was increase the apple cider amount by a half cup and used a half cup of Fireball Whisky. I took Barb's advice and cooked this in the slow cooker for about six hours. Turned out absolutely perfect. One of the best apple butter recipes I've made. Smells AMAZING when it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Just finished making my 1st batch! my house smells wonderful & this recipe could not have been easier! i adjusted the spices to my family's liking, subbing allspice in place of cloves & reducing the ginger to 1/4 tsp. & i also could not find Macintosh apples in my area, so i used Honeycrisp apples instead... will definitely use this recipe for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! Added a pinch of dehydrated lemon peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is amazing. I deviate from the directions only in the way that I had everything at one time and put in the crock pot all day or all night on low temperature. When the fluid is cooked off to the right consistenty, I put it in the food processor to make sure the lumps are all gone and then I can it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
After you have cooked it for the full time, use your blender to achieve the consistency of real apple butter. A little more tart than real apple butter, but very good flavor otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is a phenomenal recipe! My whole family loves apple butter and this is the best we have ever had. After the apples had stewed for an hour I put them through a food mill twice. I also got a good quality of brandy and added a 1 TB of ground ginger and 1 TB of lemon. I would probably drop the sugar just a little bit, and I left it in the pot for 2.5 hours after food milling it which thickened and caramelized it beautifully. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Anyways, this recipe is awesome. I made it for a cooking class, and the professional chef said she wanted this recipe. is there a way that i can make this brandy-free? for my children. they are VERY hyper. thanks. to any one, do you guys know a brandy-free way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
OH MY! This is so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This apple butter is absolutely Fabulous - the best I've ever had! I followed the ingredients exactly. I cored the apples but did not peel them to take advantage of the pectin in the peel. When the apples were very soft I processed them through a food mill to remove the peels, then proceeded with the recipe. I needed a quick dessert one evening. I toasted thick slices of pound cake then topped with a generous dollop of apple butter and whipped cream. My guests were very impressed and raved about the apple butter. Tomorrow I'm making a triple batch to give as favors at Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
OMG is this good. But I am a lazy cook so Only suggestion is to skip....peel, slice and core....just quarter the apple, take off the stem and any ugly parts and cook on medium low with a little water in the bottom of the pan to keep it from scorching. Don't walk away...(takes about 30 mins)then when it is all mushy put the cooked apples through a foley food mill. the texture will be creamy. then continue cooking and add sugar and spice, till it is nice. I use golf ball size crab apples and it has an amazing flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States