Superb Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. We had it with brown rice and it was SO good. I did a few things different. I only used green peppers (that's all I had) and I added cherry tomatoes (cut in half) and when I browned the sausage I added a clove a garlic for extra flavor. I took the advice of another reviewer and used chicken broth instead of water. Great recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
We loved this recipe. I made a couple of minor changes after reading the previous reviews. I had eight English bangers and I used both a red and green pepper and one zucchini that I sliced in half lengthwise and then sliced up each half in semi circles. I also used some fresh sliced mushrooms and a large spanish onion because these were the vegetables I had on hand. Instead of water I used chicken broth and along with the salt and pepper I used a few good shakes of Mrs. Dash No Salt Added Garlic and Herb seasoning. Yes the sauce is a bit soupy but over rice it is delicious and I served some crusty buns to mop it up with. Very good recipe that I will make again. Thank you for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Excellent. Used 3 colors of peppers and added mushrooms. Added a smidge of cayenne. Served over brown rice. Tim liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Must say...WOW! I was really surprised with how good it was! I tweaked it a little of course, but mainly because I don't measure, and I cut the recipe in 1/2 for just my husband and I. I used mrs dash, garlic powder and a little ground sea salt. Nice, tangy taste and the rice tops it off nicely! I think next time we're trying it with carrots, celery, and mushrooms in it as well! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
very nice try with a small pinch of dried chilli flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul (uk) cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Used spicey ground chicken sausage. Served w brown rice. Even better the next day after it soaks in together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was a little soupy like other reviews said, but it didn't bother me in the least, it tasted great. I added mushrooms and zucchini in addition to the peppers. I also added garlic, salt, pepper, and garlic herb seasoning, and used chicken broth instead of water (only half a cup). I found it nice and tasty. I also cooked the whole thing in the slow cooker, which worked great. I cooked it on high for 6 hours, but I probably could have done it on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I love this recipe, but I have made three changes to the recipe, and I think you'll like the changes. This is so tasty and fills the house with such a great smell. 1. I replace the link sausages with 1 Chub of Premium pork sausage.(pre-fried) 2. Add 3/4 cup of rice (and a 1 1/2 cups water. 3. I add two Relleno or Anaheim peppers, chopped up and baked along with everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Super easy and quite tasty. I used gourmet tomato basil sausages from a market by my work, they really made the dish. i cooked a little under an hour, about 45 minutes, to keep the peppers a little crunchy. I really enjoyed it, 5 stars for ease and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
was very good...added garlic ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States