Superb Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
We loved this recipe. I made a couple of minor changes after reading the previous reviews. I had eight English bangers and I used both a red and green pepper and one zucchini that I sliced in half lengthwise and then sliced up each half in semi circles. I also used some fresh sliced mushrooms and a large spanish onion because these were the vegetables I had on hand. Instead of water I used chicken broth and along with the salt and pepper I used a few good shakes of Mrs. Dash No Salt Added Garlic and Herb seasoning. Yes the sauce is a bit soupy but over rice it is delicious and I served some crusty buns to mop it up with. Very good recipe that I will make again. Thank you for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
4 stars for ease of preparation. I used italian hot sausage. This comes out really soupy - so I served over rice. A little bland on the spices, I will try adding more spices (maybe some garlic and cayenne pepper) the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Super easy and quite tasty. I used gourmet tomato basil sausages from a market by my work, they really made the dish. i cooked a little under an hour, about 45 minutes, to keep the peppers a little crunchy. I really enjoyed it, 5 stars for ease and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Made this with chicken sausage that had portobello mushrooms in it. I served it on a bed of white jasmine rice. It turned out great! My hubby really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This was a quick and easy dish. I added mushrooms to make this dish even more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Ennis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. We had it with brown rice and it was SO good. I did a few things different. I only used green peppers (that's all I had) and I added cherry tomatoes (cut in half) and when I browned the sausage I added a clove a garlic for extra flavor. I took the advice of another reviewer and used chicken broth instead of water. Great recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Excellent. Used 3 colors of peppers and added mushrooms. Added a smidge of cayenne. Served over brown rice. Tim liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
very nice try with a small pinch of dried chilli flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul (uk) cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Great with bow tie pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Must say...WOW! I was really surprised with how good it was! I tweaked it a little of course, but mainly because I don't measure, and I cut the recipe in 1/2 for just my husband and I. I used mrs dash, garlic powder and a little ground sea salt. Nice, tangy taste and the rice tops it off nicely! I think next time we're trying it with carrots, celery, and mushrooms in it as well! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States