Superb Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This was a quick and easy dish. I added mushrooms to make this dish even more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Ennis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Super easy and quite tasty. I used gourmet tomato basil sausages from a market by my work, they really made the dish. i cooked a little under an hour, about 45 minutes, to keep the peppers a little crunchy. I really enjoyed it, 5 stars for ease and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
4 stars for ease of preparation. I used italian hot sausage. This comes out really soupy - so I served over rice. A little bland on the spices, I will try adding more spices (maybe some garlic and cayenne pepper) the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Made this with chicken sausage that had portobello mushrooms in it. I served it on a bed of white jasmine rice. It turned out great! My hubby really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
We loved this recipe. I made a couple of minor changes after reading the previous reviews. I had eight English bangers and I used both a red and green pepper and one zucchini that I sliced in half lengthwise and then sliced up each half in semi circles. I also used some fresh sliced mushrooms and a large spanish onion because these were the vegetables I had on hand. Instead of water I used chicken broth and along with the salt and pepper I used a few good shakes of Mrs. Dash No Salt Added Garlic and Herb seasoning. Yes the sauce is a bit soupy but over rice it is delicious and I served some crusty buns to mop it up with. Very good recipe that I will make again. Thank you for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. We had it with brown rice and it was SO good. I did a few things different. I only used green peppers (that's all I had) and I added cherry tomatoes (cut in half) and when I browned the sausage I added a clove a garlic for extra flavor. I took the advice of another reviewer and used chicken broth instead of water. Great recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Excellent. Used 3 colors of peppers and added mushrooms. Added a smidge of cayenne. Served over brown rice. Tim liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
very nice try with a small pinch of dried chilli flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul (uk) cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Great quick to cook and leave recipe, kids loved it - including the red capsicum! Left in slower cooker all day on auto cook, went out all day and it was ready at dinner time. Used only red capsicum though and added peas and corn and paprika, served on boiled rice - there was nothing left! Thank you, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was a little soupy like other reviews said, but it didn't bother me in the least, it tasted great. I added mushrooms and zucchini in addition to the peppers. I also added garlic, salt, pepper, and garlic herb seasoning, and used chicken broth instead of water (only half a cup). I found it nice and tasty. I also cooked the whole thing in the slow cooker, which worked great. I cooked it on high for 6 hours, but I probably could have done it on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States