Superb Cranberry Sauce with Apples and Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Fabulous! I didn't have whole spices, so I used ground. I only had time to chill it for a couple of hours, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made two different cranberry sauces for Thanksgiving dinner this year - my usual Oranged Cranberry Sauce from this site, and this one. I cut it back to 8 servings, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was a beautiful, flavorful sauce, just a tad sweeter than I like. That could simply be the result of the fruit I used (pears can really vary in sweetness), and is easily fixed by adding a portion of the sugar, then adding more as needed after the fruit has had time to release its juices. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This cranberry sauce was amazing. I made it without the allspice, to satisfy some of our holiday guests. But the best part was that my dad and grandpa, who don't even like cranberry sauce, loved this. It was a great mix of fruits and spices, AND very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
"SUPERB" is right! Excellent flavor and texture combinations. Everyone raved about it! I did choose to add more cranberries than the 6 cups called for....it was just a bit sweet for my taste as I enjoy a more tart flavor to my cranberry sauce. Just a personal preference issue, not really a criticism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue L Welch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Was a Thanksgiving hit. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Erickson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NE1canCook
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Lisa - This is a great recipe for Home Made Cranberry Sauce. It is so easy to make and the results are perfection!! We had a Christmas Dinner party and I used your recipe. I did not change one thing and everyone loved it!! They all wanted the recipe -so I printed up your recipe and shared it with them. Thank you for sharing it with the ALLRECIPE.COM family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NE1canCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fort, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
dont know what happened when i rated this before but its a solid 5 ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is great for people who aren't really fond of cranberries - it has a lot of apple flavor. It's pretty good, but I personally prefer cranberry relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My husband made this recipe last year. Everyone loved it and leftovers went too quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was the first time that I cooked homemade cranberry sauce, and I was very excited to see that this incorporated fruit other than just cranberries. I left it in the fridge for approximately 24 hours, but it didn't gel up the way that I thought it would. Also, it was delicious, but just way too sweet to eat as a side dish. My husband said that it could probably be used as filling or a topping for a dessert, because it is very sweet. Although the sweetness bothered us, the taste was very good; hence, I will be making it again. Next time, I will cut back on the sugar and use more cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States